Amour Assembly Elections 2015

Amour Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
ABDUL JALIL MASTAN Indian National Congress Won
SABA ZAFAR Bharatiya Janata Party 48138
ANIMA DAS Shivsena 4393
MD NASIM AKHTER Bahujan Samaj Party 2458
MD NAWAZISH ALAM All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen 1955
BABAR AZAM Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 1763
NIL MANI SINGH Independent 1431
MD MAZHARUL BARI Independent 1333
MD SHAHABUZZAMA Nationalist Congress Party 1152
AKHALAK ALAM Gareeb Aadmi Party 1119
MD MOJIB Bharat Nirman Party 772
MOHSIN Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 640
None of the Above None of the Above 3106

Amour Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
56 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Amour Assembly Elections Constituency

Amour, assembly segment in Purnia district is a part of Kishanganj Lok Sabha constituency. Amour assembly constituency comprises Baisa and Amour community development blocks. Amour assembly segment has 2,63,619 eligible voters. Among those 1,40,462 are men and 1,23,153 are women.

Electoral History of Amour Constituency in Bihar

Amour is one of the seven assembly constituencies located in the district of Purnia in Bihar. Amour Constituency is populated by 2,63,619 eligible voters. Among those who can vote in the constituency are 1,40,462 men and 1,23,153 women

One of the seven assembly constituencies located in the district of Purnia in Bihar, Amour is currently held by Saba Zafar of the BJP who had defeated his nearest rival and sitting Congress MLA Abdul Jalil Mastan by a handsome margin of 18828 votes in the last general assembly elections to Bihar in 2010.

Saba Zafar is the only Muslim candidate who was fielded by the BJP in 2010 polls. In that election, while Saba Zafar polled 57774 votes, Abdul Jalil Mastan, who had been representing the seat since 2000, received 38946 votes and was followed by Babar Azam of the Lalu Yadav's Rashtirya Janata Dal (RJD) who obtained 16323 votes.

Under the seat sharing arrangement between the BJP and the Janata Dal (United), the Muslim dominated Amour seat was allotted to the former. However, as things stand today, the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), the ally of the RJD in the last assembly elections, is now a part of the BJP led NDA. The JD (U), the RJD and the Congress have joined forces to fight the BJP.

Earlier Abdul Jalil Mastan had both the elections to the Amour seat in 2005. It is worth mentioning that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

In 2000, Abdul Jalil Mastan had emerged victorious from the Amour assembly seat by defeating Saba Zafar, then a RJD nominee, by a margin of 15834 votes. in the previous assembly election to the seat in the form of a by-poll in 1997, Saba Zafar had defeated him to claim Amour as an Independent candidate.

In 1995 Muzaffar Hussain had won the seat as a candidate of the Samajwadi party which had won two seats in the state at that time.

Amour is one of the six assembly segments that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Kishanganj which is currently represented by Mohammad Asrarul Haque of the Congress who won it by defeating his nearest rival Dr Dilip Kumar Jaiswal of the BJP by a margin of 192612 votes in the last Lok Sabha general elections in 2014.

Amour Assembly Election News 2015

Traditional rivals at it again

Updated on : Oct-16,2015

Sitting BJP MLA Saba Zafar from Amour is contesting against from here. She will face a tough contest from both MIM's Nawazish Alam and Abdul Jalil Mastan of Congress. It may be noted that both Saba Zafar and Jalil Mastan had faced each other in 2010 election as well in Amour. However, the presence of MIM candidate is expected split the votes from the Grand Alliance giving a slight edge to BJP MLA Saba Zafar in Amour.
Amour is represented in the assembly by Saba Zafar of BJP. Saba Zafar took hold of the assembly seat after she emerged victorious in the 2010 election with 57,774 votes. Abdul Jalil Mastan of the Congress ended up as the runner up by winning 38,946 votes.

Amour Assembly Election Videos 2015