Amarpur Assembly Elections 2015

Amarpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
JANARDAN MANJHI Janata Dal (United) Won
MRINAL SHEKHAR Bharatiya Janata Party 61934
SURYADEO SINGH Independent 2134
AJAY HARIJAN Bhartiya Dalit Party 1314
AMIT KUMAR SHEKHAR Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 1082
SHASHI SHEKHAR Independent 788
ANIL KUMAR SINGH Loktantrik Samata Dal 739
MANOJ KUMAR AZAD Independent 619
SADHANA KUMARI Independent 546
RANJEET SHARMA Independent 481
PRAVIN KUMAR Independent 314
KUMARI SHYAMA PANDEY Garib Janta Dal (Secular) 308
MITHILESH KUMAR SINGH Samras Samaj Party 277
None of the Above None of the Above 6823

Amarpur Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
159 (SC) Phase I Sep 23rd 2015 Oct 12th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Amarpur Assembly Elections Constituency

Amarpur is one of the five assembly segments located in the Banka district. It comprises Amarpur and Shambhuganj community development blocks. The Amarpur legislative assembly segment has a total of 2, 52,908 eligible voters, out of whom 1, 35,007 are men and 1, 17,894 are women.

Electoral History of Amarpur Constituency in Bihar

One of the five assembly segments located in the Banka district of Bihar, Amarpur is currently held by Janardan Manjhi of the Janata Dal (United) who wrested the from seat the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) by defeating its sitting MLA Surendra Prasad Singh by a margin of 18007 votes in 2010 general assembly polls to the Bihar Legislative assembly. In that election, while Janardan Manjhi polled 47300 votes, Surendra Prasad Singh, a four term legislator, received 29293 votes and was followed by Rakesh Kumar Singh of the Congress who got 9583 votes.

In 2010, the BJP did not field its candidate as under the terms of its alliance with the JD (U), Amarpur was allotted to the latter. However, as things stand today, the BJP and the JD (U) have snapped their alliance and the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), the ally of the RJD in the last assembly elections, is now a part of the BJP led NDA, the ruling dispensation at the Centre. In a bid to survive, the RJD, the JD (U) and the Congress have come together to check the BJP's juggernaut in Bihar.

Other four assembly constituencies in the Banka district are Dhoraiya, Banka, Katoria and Belhar.

Earlier Surendra Prasad Singh had been elected from Amarpur assembly constituency in 1995, 2000 and both the elections in 2005. It is very much to the point to underline the fact that Bihar went to the assembly polls twice in 2005 because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year. While Surendra's win in 1995 came as a nominee of the Janata Dal, he won the next three elections on the ticket of RJD.

Amarpur is one of the six assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the parliamentary constituency of Banka which is currently represented by of Jay Prakash Narayan Yadav of the RJD who won it by defeating the sitting MP Putul Kumari in 2014 Lok Sabha elections by a margin of 10144 votes. Putul Kumari, who joined the BJP before 2014 general parliamentary elections, had won the Banka seat as an Independent in a bye poll in 2010 necessitated due to the death of her husband and former Union minister Digvijay Singh who had also won the seat in 2009 as an independent.

Other assembly segments located in the Lok Sabha constituency of Banka are Dhoraiya, Banka, Katoria, Belhar and Sultanganj.

Amarpur Assembly Election News 2015

Young face of BJP

Updated on : Oct-2,2015

BJP candidate Mrinal Shekhar in Amarpur comes from an ABVP background and a staunch party loyalist. Amarpur in Banka district has 11 young candidates including Shekhar. He used to be a spokseperson for Shahnawaz Hussain. He has been working in Amarpur for the last few years and takes on the JD (U)'s sitting MLA Janardhan Manjhi.

Amarpur Assembly Election Videos 2015