Alinagar Assembly Elections 2015

Alinagar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
ABDUL BARI SIDDIQUI Rashtriya Janata Dal Won
MISHRI LAL YADAV Bharatiya Janata Party 54001
RAJ KUMAR JHA Independent 4009
NASEEM AZAM SIDDIQUI Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 2948
MAHMUD AALAM Bahujan Samaj Party 1533
RAM SAFI Independent 1353
ANANT KUMAR Independent 1173
HARIHAR KUMAR JHA Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 824
RAJIPAL JHA Independent 778
DINESH MISHRA Independent 533
HARISHCHANDRA JHA Sarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party 421
None of the Above None of the Above 4664

Alinagar Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
81 GEN Phase V Oct 8th 2015 Nov 5th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Alinagar Assembly Elections Constituency

Alinagar is a legislative assembly in Darbhanga district and is also a part of the Darbhanga Lok Sabha constituency. Alinagar constituency would comprise Ghanshyampur, Tardih and Alinagar community development blocks. Alinagar accommodates a total of 2,39,416 voters amongst them 1,26,043 are males and 1,13,370 females.

Electoral History of Alinagar Constituency in Bihar

Alinagar is one of the six assembly constituencies located in the Darbhanga district. Alinagar constituency would comprise Ghanshyampur, Tardih and Alinagar community development blocks. Alinagar has a total of 2, 39,416 voters amongst them 1, 26,043 are males and 1, 13,370 females.

  One of the ten assembly constituencies located in the Darbhanga district of Bihar, Alinagar is currently held by Abdul Bari Siddiqui of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) who had won it in the last assembly polls to Bihar in 2010 by defeating his nearest rival Prabhakar Choudhary of the Janata Dal (United) by a simple margin of 4989 votes.

   In that election, Abdul Bari Siddiqui , who was the leader of opposition in the Bihar legislative assembly before the JD(U) snapped its alliance with the BJP, had polled 37923 votes, Prabhakar Choudhary, former Manigachhi JD(U) MLA, received 32934 votes and was followed by Rajesh Kumar Yadav of the Deve Gowda led Janata Dal (Secular) who secured 11208 votes.

  Dr. Madan Mohan Jha, who was nominated by the Congress, came fourth with 6762 votes. In 2010 The RJD had won only 22 seats in the last assembly polls in Bihar. The BJP and the JD (U) had claimed 91 and 115 seats respectively. Alinagar assembly constituency came into being before the last general assembly polls in 2010 following the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission.

  In 2010 the BJP did not field its candidate for the Alinagar seat because it was in alliance with the Janata Dal (United) at that time. However, as things stand today, the BJP and the JD (U) have parted ways and the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), then an ally of the RJD, is now a part of the BJP led NDA, the ruling dispensation at the Centre.

  In the assembly elections in 2010, four assembly seats in the Darbhanga district were contested by the JD(U), while the remaining six seats were allotted to the its then ally BJP. Alinagar is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of Darbhanga which is currently represented by Kiriti Azad of the BJP who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

  Other five assembly constituencies that are parts of the Darbhanga parliamentary seat are Gaura Bauram, Benipur, Darbhanga Rural, Darbhanga and Bahdurpur.

Alinagar Assembly Election News 2015

BJP supporters are unhappy

Updated on : Oct-18,2015

In Alinagar, voters have questioned the BJP’s decision to field former RJD MLC Misri Lal Yadav, who is from Keoti. BJP supporters say a local Yadav candidate would have helped the BJP gain from anti-incumbency against the sitting RJD MLA Abdul Bari Siddiqui. Contrary to conventional caste wisdom, Siddiqui has support among Brahmins who, villagers said, would rally behind him with the BJP having fielded a Yadav. Alinagar was formed as a legislative assembly segment after the implementation of the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission of India in 2008. Abdul Siddiqui was the first ever MLA of the Alinagar constituency. He won the seat by bagging 37,923 votes in the assembly election held in 2010. Siddiqui defeated Prabhakar Choudhary of JD(U) by a margin of 4,989 votes. Alinagar assembly segment is in Darbhanga district.

Alinagar Assembly Election Videos 2015