Agiaon Assembly Elections 2015

Agiaon Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
PRABHUNATH PRASAD Janata Dal (United) Won
SHIVESH KUMAR Bharatiya Janata Party 37572
MANOJ KUMAR Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) (Liberation) 31789
UPENDRA KUMAR Independent 1493
BANDNA DEVI Samajwadi Party 1147
KASHINATH PRASAD Bahujan Mukti Party 1065
SHASHI SHEKHAR PRASAD Bahujan Samaj Party 1020
None of the Above None of the Above 4244

Agiaon Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
195 (SC) Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Agiaon Assembly Election Constituency

Agiaon legislative assembly constituency is located in the Bhojpur district and belongs to the Arrah Lok Sabha constituency. Agiaon assembly segment comprises Agiaon, Charpokhari and Garhani community development blocks. The Agiaon assembly segment has 2,24,985 voters, including 1,01,942 women and 1,23,039 men.

Electoral History of Agiaon Constituency in Bihar

Agiaon was won by Shivesh Kumar of the BJP in the last assembly polls to Bihar in 2010. In that election, Shivesh Kumar had secured 29257 votes to trounce his nearest Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) rival Suresh Paswan by a margin 5249 votes. Suresh Paswan, who received 24008 votes, was followed by CPIML candidate Sidhnath Ram who polled 21739 votes.

Ashok Kumar of the Congress came fourth with just 4024 votes. The then sitting Barbigha Janata Dal (United) MLA Ramsundar Ram Kanaujia (R.R. Kanaujia) , who entered the fray on the ticket Deve Gowda led Janata Dal (Secular) after being denied ticket by the JD(U), was relegated to the eight place by securing just 1697 votes.

The JD (U did not field its candidate as it was contesting the 2010 assembly elections in alliance with the BJP. However, as things stand today, the BJP and the JD (U) have parted ways and the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), the ally of the RJD in the last assembly elections, is now a part of the BJP led NDA, the ruling dispensation at the Centre. In a bid to survive, the RJD, the JD (U) and the Congress have come together to check the BJP.

Earlier Shivesh Kumar , son of Muni Lall ,former BJP MP from Sasaram and Union Minister in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee Government, had unsuccessfully contested the Sahar assembly constituency in 2005 November elections.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Agiaon assembly constituency came into being before the last general assembly elections to Bihar in 2000 following the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission.

Agiaon is one of the seven assembly constituencies that unite to form the Arrah parliamentary constituency currently represented by Raj Kumar Singh of the BJP who won the seat by defeating his nearest RJD rival Sribhagwan Singh Kushwaha by a margin of 135870 votes in the last parliamentary elections in 2014. The sitting JD (U) MP Meena Singh was relegated to the fourth place with CPIML nominee Raju Yadav claiming the third spot.

Sandesh, Barhara, Arrah, Tarari, Jagdishpur and Shahpur are the other six assembly segments located in the Arrah parliamentary constituency.

Agiaon Assembly Election News 2015

Sitting MLA faces tough test

Updated on : Oct-3,2015

BJP has nominated its sitting MLA Shivesh Kumar in Agiaon. Prabhunath Ram from JD(U) will pose a stiff challenge to the sitting BJP MLA in this constituency. CPI(ML) too has fielded Manoj Manjil in this constituency. Agiaon is located in the Bhojpur district and belongs to the Arrah Lok Sabha constituency. The constituency came into existence in 2008 when the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission of India were implemented. Agiaon assembly segment comprises Agiaon, Charpokhari and Garhani development blocks.
The first ever MLA of the Agiaon constituency is Shivesh Kumar of BJP, who won the seat by getting 29,257 votes in the assembly election held in November 2010. He defeated RJD's Suresh Paswan by a margin of 5,249 votes.

Agiaon Assembly Election Videos 2015