Mandirbazar Assembly Elections 2016

In the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, Trinamool Congress had led from the Mandirbazar assembly constituency. The party’s sitting MLA has once again nominated to contest the coming 2016 assembly elections. Though the TMC enjoys the edge, the CPM is not far behind. An alliance with the Congress may be beneficial for the CPM. BJP, on the other hand, lacks the organizational network and is not in a position make its presence forcefully felt in the constituency.

Currently Mandirbazar is represented in the legislative assembly of West Bengal by TMC’s Joydeb Haldar who won the seat by defeating his nearest CPM rival Sarat Halder by 18641 votes in a bipolar contest in 2011.

In that election, while Joydeb Haldar polled 83524 votes, got 64883 votes and was followed by BJP’s Goutam Naskar who managed to get 3,209 votes.

In 2006, Mandirbazar had elected Tapati Saha of CPM.

Located in the South 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, Mandirbazar assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Mandirbazar block as well as Laksmi-Narayanpur Dakshin, Mathurapur Paschim, Laksmi-Narayanpur Uttar and Mathurapur Purba gram panchayats of Mathurapur- 1 block.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, the predominantly rural assembly constituency of Mandirbazar is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Mathurapur which is reserved for the candidates belonging to scheduled castes.

In the 2011 assembly election to Mandirbazar, the constituency had a total electorate of 181170. Of them, 94112 were males and the rest were female voters who numbered at 87058.

Mandirbazar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Halder Joydeb AITC Won
Dr. Sarat Chandra Haldar CPM 69400
Chhandita Mazumder BJP 8653
Sisir Kumar Mondal SUCI(C) 1848
Nota Nota 1460
Bappa Das PDS 951
Tapas Kumar Halder BSP 810
Ganesh Halder LJP 788
Sudip Halder IND 692

No News Found