Tamil Nadu Election 2019

Tamil Nadu Assembly By-Elections 2019

This is a mini marathon race for political parties in Tamil Nadu, as the state is all set to go to by-polls on April 18, 2019 for the 18 assembly seats out of 21 seats. Elections will be taking place in a single phase and the results will be announced on May 23. Political parties should file their nominations between March 19 and March 26. The last date for withdrawal of nominations is March 29.

These seats have been lying vacant for many months now. Assembly by-elections in three constituencies namely Ottapidaram, Aravakurichi and Tirupparamkundram will not be held due to pending cases in the court. Along with the assembly elections, Parliamentary elections for 39 seats will be conducted on April 18.

It should be noted that this election is also called as the acid test for several parties and their leaderships, since Tamil Nadu is facing the first election after the death of 2 top personalities - former Chief Ministers J Jayalalithaa and M Karunanidhi. By-polls are also termed as mini assembly election, since the ruling AIADMK needs to win 4 seats in order survive. The total strength of the Tamil Nadu Assembly is 234. With the demise of DMK MLA M Karunanidhi and AIADMK MLA AK Bose, the number is reduced to 232 including the speaker.

Tamil Nadu Map