Mahnar Assembly Elections 2015

Mahnar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
UMESH SINGH KUSHWAHA Janata Dal (United) Winner
DR. ACHUTA NAND Bharatiya Janata Party 43370
AMOD KUMAR RAY Jan Adhikar Party (Loktantrik) 5425
BRAJ NANDAN KUMAR SINGH Bahujan Samaj Party 2777
RAM SAGAR HAJRA Rastriya Sadabahar Party 2733
ARJUN DAS Independent 2307
ANNPURNA SINGH Independent 1993
KUNDAN KUMAR Sarvajan Kalyan Loktantrik Party 1598
MAHESH PASWAN Independent 1546
MALAYAM KUMAR MANGALAM Rashtravadi Janata Party 1271
RANJEET PANDIT Communist Party of India 1134
MITHILESH KUMAR SINGH 'SATHI' Sathi Aur Aapka Faisala Party 1086
RAMNATH SAHNI Independent 1054
ARVIND KUMAR Rashtriya Jankranti Party 800
SARWESH KUMAR Independent 741
BRAJESH KUMAR RAY Jammu & Kashmir National Panthers Party 561
SUJEET KUMAR Independent 517
PRABHAT KUMAR Bahujan Mukti Party 488
AMEEYA KUMAR SINGH National Janta Party (Indian) 356
USHA DEVI Bhartiya Jagaran Party 348
None of the Above None of the Above 1561

Mahnar Assembly Elections Schedule

AC No Category Poll Phases Last Date of Nominations Date of Polls Result
129 GEN Phase III Oct 1st 2015 Oct 28th 2015 Nov 8th 2015

About Mahnar Assembly Elections Constituency

  Mahnar is a legislative assembly constituency is situated in the Vaishali district and a part of the Hajipur Lok Sabha constituency. The Mahnar legislative assembly segment is home to 2,50,052 eligible voters, amongst whom 1,34,833 are male and 1,15,203 are female.

   The Mahnar assembly segment comprises Loma, Borhan/Rasulpur Gaus, Mukundpur Bhath, Basantpur, Bahsi Saidpur, Mohiuddinpur Garahi, Hazrat Jandaha, Harprasad, Arniyan, Mahipura, Khopi, Sohrathi, Saiyad Mahammad/Salha, Mahisaur, Bishunpur Bedauliya, Chandsarai, Rasalpur Purushottam, Dihbuchauli and Peerapur gram panchayats of the Jandaha community development block, as well as the Mahnar community development block.

Electoral History of Mahnar Constituency in Bihar

  One of the eight assembly segments located in the Vaishali district of Bihar, Mahnar is currently held by Achutanand Singh of the BJP who won the seat in 2010 general assembly polls to the Bihar Legislative assembly by defeating his nearest rival and sitting Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) MLA Rama Kishore Singh by a margin of 2489 votes. In that election, while Achutanand Singh, the sitting LJP MLA from the erstwhile Jandaha assembly constituency, polled 29754 votes, Rama Kishor Singh received 27265 votes and was followed by independent candidate Munsi Lal Rai who secured 20855 votes. Earlier Munsi Lal Rai was elected from the Mahnar assembly seat in 1980, 1985 and 1995.

   Another independent candidate Umesh Singh Kushwaha occupied the fourth place with 18397 votes. The Congress nominee Raghupati Singh was reduced to the fifth position with 4679 votes. Achutanand Singh quit the LJP to join the BJP before 2010 elections.

  Earlier Rama Kishore Singh alias Rama Singh, had won both the elections to Mahnar in 2005 by trouncing Munshilal Rai, then a RJD candidate, It is worth mentioning that that two general assembly polls were held in 2005 in Bihar because the earlier one held in February threw hung assembly necessitating the holding of the second assembly polls in the month of November of the same year.

  In 2000 too, Rama Kishore Singh, then a Janata Dal (United) member, had emerged winner by trouncing Munshilal Rai. He was elected to the Lok Sabha from the Vaishali parliamentary constituency on the ticket of the LJP.

  Mahnar is one of the six assembly constituencies that combine to form the parliamentary constituency of the same name which is currently represented by Union minister Ram Vilas Paswan who won the seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections by defeating his nearest Congress rival Sanjeev Prasad Toni by a margin of 2,25,500 votes. Former Bihar Chief Minister and JD (U) sitting MP Ram Sundar Das was relegated to the third place.

  Other five assembly constituencies that are parts of the Hajiupur parliamentary seat are Hajipur, Lalganj, Mahua, Raja Pakar and Raghopur.

Mahnar Assembly Election News 2015

NDA poised for big win

Updated on : Oct-3,2015

  Ruling JD(U) has fielded Umesh Kushwaha who will take on Dr. Achyutanand from the BJP in this constituency.

  Raghupati Singh, a long-time former aide of Nitish Kumar, contested on a Congress ticket from Mahnar and lost in 2010 assembly poll.

  Raghupati Singh had been arrested and jailed with Nitish during the Emergency.

  He sums up five categories of voters against the chief minister and only one count for him.

  The anti-Lalu vote, traditional supporters of BJP (forward castes), the majority of Paswans, a section of Kushwahas, and Musahars who are under the influence of Jitan Ram Manjhi will vote for the NDA front.

  Though Nitish has done a lot of developmental work, those who will vote for him only because they are happy with his work in the last 10 years across the caste divide won’t be more than five per cent.

  Most people will vote based on caste, said Raghupati Singh.

Mahnar Assembly Election Videos 2015