National Holidays 2016

India has only three National Holidays. Other holidays pertaining to festivals, religious holidays and births of leaders are legislated by the individual states.

List of holidays to be celebrated in INDIA during the year 2016

Following is the list of festivals to be celebrated all over India during the year 2016.

  • New Year Cards

    List of Government Holidays - 2016 :

    Date Weekday Holiday Event Holiday type
    Jan 1 Friday New Year's Day Restricted Holiday
    Jan 14Thursday Makar SankrantiRestricted Holiday
    Jan 15 Friday Pongal Restricted Holiday
    Jan 16 SaturdayGuru Govind Singh Jayanti Restricted Holiday
    Jan 26 TuesdayRepublic Day Gazetted Holiday
    Feb 8 Monday Chinese New Year Observance
    Feb 12 Friday Vasant Panchami Restricted Holiday
    Feb 19 Friday Shivaji Jayanti Restricted Holiday
    Feb 22 Monday Guru Ravidas Jayanti Restricted Holiday
    Mar 4 Friday Maharishi Dayanand Saraswati Jayanti Restricted Holiday
    Mar 7 Monday Maha Shivaratri/Shivaratri Gazetted Holiday
    Mar 23 Wednesday Holika Dahana Restricted Holiday
    Mar 24 Thursday Maundy Thursday Observance, Christian
    Mar 24 Thursday Dolyatra Restricted Holiday
    Mar 25 Friday Good Friday Gazetted Holiday
    Mar 27 Sunday Easter Day Restricted Holiday
    Apr 8 Friday Chaitra Sukhladi Restricted Holiday
    Apr 13 Wednesday Vaisakhi Restricted Holiday
    Apr 14 Thursday Mesadi/Vaisakhadi Restricted Holiday
    Apr 14 Thursday Ambedkar Jayanti Observance
    Apr 15 Friday Rama Navami Gazetted Holiday
    Apr 20 Wednesday Mahavir Jayanti Gazetted Holiday
    Apr 21 Thursday Hazarat Ali's Birthday Restricted Holiday
    Apr 23 Saturday First day of Passover Observance
    May 1 Sunday May Day Observance
    May 8 Sunday Mother's Day Observance
    May 8 Sunday Birthday of Ravindranath Restricted Holiday
    May 21 Saturday Buddha Purnima/Vesak Gazetted Holiday
    Jun 19 Sunday Father's Day Observance
    Jun 20 Monday June Solstice Season
    Jul 1 Friday Jamat Ul-Vida Restricted Holiday
    Jul 6 Wednesday Rath Yatra Restricted Holiday
    Jul 8 Friday Ramzan Id/Eid-ul-Fitar Muslim, Common Local holidays
    Aug 7 Sunday Friendship Day Observance
    Aug 15 Monday Independence Day Gazetted Holiday
    Aug 15 Monday Thanksgiving Day Observance
    Aug 17 Wednesday Parsi New Year Restricted Holiday
    Aug 18 Thursday Raksha Bandhan (Rakhi) Restricted Holiday
    Aug 25 Thursday Janmashtami Gazetted Holiday
    Sep 5 Monday Ganesh Chaturthi/Vinayaka Chaturthi Restricted Holiday
    Sep 12 Monday Bakr Id/Eid ul-Adha Gazetted Holiday
    Sep 14 Wednesday Onam Restricted Holiday
    Oct 2 Sunday Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti Gazetted Holiday
    Oct 11 Tuesday Dussehra (Maha Navami) Gazetted Holiday
    Oct 12 Wednesday Muharram/Ashura Gazetted Holiday
    Oct 16 Sunday Maharishi Valmiki Jayanti Restricted Holiday
    Oct 19 Wednesday Karaka Chaturthi (Karva Chauth) Restricted Holiday
    Oct 29 Saturday Naraka Chaturdasi Restricted Holiday
    Oct 30 Sunday Diwali/Deepavali Gazetted Holiday
    Oct 31 Monday Halloween Observance
    Oct 31 Monday Govardhan Puja Restricted Holiday
    Nov 1 Tuesday Bhai Duj Restricted Holiday
    Nov 6 Sunday Chhat Puja (Pratihar Sashthi/Surya Sashthi) Restricted Holiday
    Nov 24 Thursday Guru Tegh Bahadur's Martyrdom Day Restricted Holiday
    Dec 13 Tuesday Milad un-Nabi/Id-e-Milad Gazetted Holiday
    Dec 24 Saturday Christmas Eve Restricted Holiday
    Dec 25 Sunday First Day of Hanukkah Observance
    Dec 25 Sunday Christmas Gazetted Holiday
    Dec 31 SaturdayNew Year's EveObservance, Christian