National Holidays 2019

India has only three National Holidays. Other holidays pertaining to festivals, religious holidays and births of leaders are legislated by the individual states.

List of holidays to be celebrated in INDIA during the year 2019

Following is the list of festivals to be celebrated all over India during the year 2019.






List of Government Holidays - 2019


Day Date Holiday Event Holiday type
Tuesday January 01 New Years Day Restricted Holiday
Tuesday January 14 Makar Sankranti Also known as Pongal, Lohri, Bihu, Hadaga, Poki
Saturday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Friday April 19 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Wednesday May 01 May Day Assam, Bihar, Goa, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal only
Wednesday June 05 Idul Fitr Many states
Monday August 12 Idul Juha Many states
Thursday August 15 Independence Day
Friday August 23 Janmashtami Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Monday September 02 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Tuesday September 10 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Wednesday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Tuesday October 08 Vijaya Dashami Karnataka, Kerala, Odisha, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu. Dussehra
Sunday October 27 Deewali Deepawali
Sunday November 10 Milad-un-Nabi
Wednesday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states