National Holidays 2017

India has only three National Holidays. Other holidays pertaining to festivals, religious holidays and births of leaders are legislated by the individual states.

List of holidays to be celebrated in INDIA during the year 2017

Following is the list of festivals to be celebrated all over India during the year 2017.






List of Government Holidays - 2017


Day Date Holiday Event Holiday type
Sunday January 01 New Years Day Restricted Holiday
Saturday January 14 Makar Sankranti Also known as Pongal, Lohri, Bihu, Hadaga, Poki
Thursday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Friday April 14 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Monday May 01 May Day Assam, Bihar, Goa, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal only
Monday June 26 Idul Fitr Many states
Monday August 14 Janmashtami Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Tuesday August 15 Independence Day
Friday August 25 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Saturday September 02 Idul Juha Many states
Saturday September 30 Vijaya Dashami Karnataka, Kerala, Odisha, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu. Dussehra
Sunday October 01 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Monday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
Wednesday October 18 Deewali Deepawali
Friday December 01 Milad-un-Nabi
Monday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states