National Holidays 2018

India has only three National Holidays. Other holidays pertaining to festivals, religious holidays and births of leaders are legislated by the individual states.

List of holidays to be celebrated in INDIA during the year 2018

Following is the list of festivals to be celebrated all over India during the year 2018.

List of Government Holidays - 2018

Day Date Holiday Event Holiday type
Monday January 01 New Years Day Restricted Holiday
Sunday January 14 Makar Sankranti Also known as Pongal, Lohri, Bihu, Hadaga, Poki
Friday January 26 Republic Day Commemorates the establishment of the Constitution of India
Friday March 30 Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
Tuesday May 01 May Day Assam, Bihar, Goa, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Manipur, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, West Bengal only
Friday June 15 Idul Fitr Many states
Wednesday August 15 Independence Day
Wednesday August 22 Idul Juha Many states
Sunday September 02 Janmashtami Celebrates the birth of Lord Shri Krishna
Thursday September 13 Ganesh Chaturthi Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Friday September 21 Muharram (10th Day) Day of Ashurah
Tuesday October 02 Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Gandhi Jayanti
friday October 19 Vijaya Dashami Karnataka, Kerala, Odisha, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu. Dussehra
Tuesday November 06 Deewali Deepawali
Wednesday November 21 Milad-un-Nabi
Tuesday December 25 Christmas Day Observed in all states