Vypeen Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls too, the Congress candidate K.V. Thomas had secured a lead of 9,324 votes in the Vypeen assembly segment. In that election BJP candidate polled 9,324 votes from the Vypeen constituency, a significant rise from a mere 2,930 votes received by the party in 2011 assembly elections.

However, in the 2015 local body elections, the LDF managed to win seven out of the eight grama panchayats in the constituency. The LDF has nominated its sitting MLA S. Sarma to contest the seat in 2016 assembly elections.

Vypeen Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
S Sarma CPM Won
K R Subhash INC 49173
Vamalochanan K K BDJS 10051
Manjuladevi CPI(ML)R 248
Rajeev Naagan API 231
K D Viswanathan PDP 183

Electoral History and Background

Currently, Vypeen assembly constituency is held by S. Sarma of CPM who won the seat in its maiden election in 2011 by defeating Ajay Tharayil of the Congress by a margin of 5242 votes in a bipolar contest. While 60814 votes were polled in favour of S. Sarma, the Congress nominee received 55572 votes and was followed by BJP’s T.G.Surendran who got 2930 votes.

Congress’s K.C. Abraham had been elected from the erstwhile Njarackal assembly in whose place Vypeen came into being before 2011.

Vypeen is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Ernakulam. Paravur, Kochi, Ernakulam, Thrippunithura, Thrikkakara and Kalamassery are the other six constituencies within the Ernakulam.

Mulavukad grama panchayat, which was earlier part of the Ernakulam constituency, was integrated with the Vypeen assembly constituency which is located in the Ernakulam district of Kerala. Kadamakudy, Edavanakkad, Elamkunnapuzha, Kuzhuppilly, Nayarambalam, Njarakkal and Pallippuram are the other gram panchayats that form the Vypeen assembly constituency.

In the Vypeen assembly constituency, female voters outnumber the males. According to the latest estimates by the Election Commission of India, the constituency has a total electorate of 161749. Out of the total electors, 83052 are female voters and 78697 are males.

Vypeen Assembly Election Videos 2016