Tirurangadi Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

A stronghold of the Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) Tirurangadi assembly constituency has never elected non - IUML candidate. Tirurangadi is a safe bet for IUML which has fielded its sitting MLA and Education Minister P.K.Abdu Rabb to contest the seat in 2016 assembly polls. Niyas Puliyikkalathu has entered the fray on behalf of the Left Democratic Front as a CPI candidate.

Tirurangadi Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
P.K Abdu Rabb IUML Won
Niyas Pulikkalakath IND 56884
P.V Geetha Madhavan BJP 8046
Maliyatt Abdurazak Haji PDP 1902
Niyas Paroli IND 541
Haneefa IND 294
Niyas Thazhathethil IND 181

Electoral History and Background

Currently, Tirurangadi assembly constituency is held by of IUML’s P.K.Abdu Rabb who won the seat in 2011 by defeating CPI candidate by a huge margin of 30208 votes in a bipolar contest. While 58666 votes were polled in favour of P.K.Abdu Rabb, the CPI nominee received 28458 votes and was followed by BJP’s Sasidharan Punnassery who got 5480 votes.

Veteran Muslim League leader and former deputy Chief Minister of the State, K Avukkader Kutty Naha, represented Tirurangadi constituency for 30 years.

C.T. Kunhalikutty Keyi won the seat in 1987 and U.A. Beeran in the 1991 elections. Following Beeran's resignation from the IUML, A.K. Anton contested the bye-election to the seat in 1995 to defeat prominent educationist N.A. Kareem.

One of the sixteen assembly constituencies located in the Malappuram district , Tirurangadi is one of the seven assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Ponnani. Tanur, Tirur, Ponnani, Tavanur, Kottakkal and Thrithala are the other six within the Ponnani parliamentary constituency.

In 2011 election to the Tirurangadi assembly constituency, there was a total electorate of 152896. Of them 76355 were males and females numbered at 76541.

Tirurangadi Assembly Election Videos 2016