Thodupuzha Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

P.J. Joseph of Kerala Congress (M) [KC(M)] is contesting for his ninth win from Thodupuzha assembly constituency. The emergence of the Janadhipathya Kerala Congress (JKC) led by Francis George has the potential of upsetting the applecart of P.J. Joseph. The support of the High-range Protection Council (HPC) will stand the Left Democratic Front (LDF) in good stead.

Thodupuzha Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
P.J. Joseph KEC(M) Won
Adv. S Praveen BDJS 28845
Roy Arackal Socialist Democratic Party Of India 1294
Nisha Jimmy SUCI(C) 811
Najeeb Kalarickal PDP 710
P.J. Ambily BSP 440
Santhosh P K IND 292
K M Veenas IND 228
Pareeth IND 194

Electoral History and Background

P.J. Joseph is the sitting MLA of Thodupuzha which he won in 2011 by beating LDF backed independent Joseph Augustine by a handsome margin of 22868 votes. In that election, while 59601 votes were polled by P.J. Joseph, Joseph Augustine obtained 43457 votes. P.M.Velayudhan of the BJP was placed third with 10049 votes.

In 1991 and 2001 P.J. Joseph was defeated by P.T. Thomas of the Congress. On both occasions P.J. Joseph was with the LDF. The first three elections to the Thodupuzha seat were won by C.M. Mathew.

One of the five assembly constituencies located in the Idukki district in Kerala, Thodupuzha is formed by the areas covered by Thodupuzha Municipality as well as the grama panchayats of Alacode, Karimannoor, Edavetty, Karimkunnam, Kumaramangalam, Kodikulam, Manakkad, Purapuzha, Muttom, Vannapuram, Udumbannoor and Velliyamattom.

Thodupuzha, which was formed in 1957, is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Idukki Lok Sabha constituency. Udumbanchola, Devikulam, Idukki, Peermade, Muvattupuzha and Kothamangalam are the other six constituencies with the Idukki parliamentary constituency.

Like most of the assembly constituencies in Kerala, in Thodupuzha assembly constituency too, female voters outnumber the male voters. Of the total electors of 1,94,652, 96,165 are men and 98,487 are women. The majority of the voters are Christians.

Thodupuzha Assembly Election Videos 2016