Perinthalmanna Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Perinthalmanna assembly constituency is posed for a keenly contested fight between Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) and the CPIM. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) candidate from the Malappuram Lok Sabha constituency E. Ahamed had secured a lead of 10614 votes over his nearest CPI rival P K Sainaba in the Manjeri Assembly segment.

While IUML has fielded its sitting Manjalamkuzhi Ali MLA to contest the seat in 2016 assembly elections, CPIM has nominated its former MLA V. Sasikumar once again. M.K. Sunil is in the fray on behalf of the BJP which is not a serious contender here.

Perinthalmanna Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Manjalamkuzhi Ali IUML Won
V.Sasikumar CPM 70411
Adv. M.K. Sunil BJP 5917
Saleem Mampad WPI 1757
Suniya Siraj SDPI 698
Palathingal Aboobacker IND 671
Sayyid Musthafa Pookoya Thangal PDP 335
Anwar Shakeer Omar IND 125

Electoral History and Background

Perinthalmanna assembly constituency is held by Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) MLA Manjalamkuzhi Ali who wrested the seat from CPIM in 2011 by defeating its then sitting legislator V. Sasikumar by a margin of 9589 votes in a bipolar contest. While 69730 votes were polled in favour of Ali, famously known as Mac Ali or King Ali, Sasikumar received 60141 votes and was followed by BJP’s Kunhimuhammed M who got just 1989 votes.

Earlier V. Sasikumar had won the seat in 2006 by defeating IUML's P. Abdul Hameed by 14,003 votes.

Located in the Malappuram district, Perinthalmanna assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Perinthalmanna municipality and grama panchayats of Aliparamba, Elamkulam, Melattur, Thazhekode, Vettathur and Pulamanthol.

Perinthalmanna is one of the seven assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Malappuram. Manjeri, Kondotty, Mankada, Malappuram, Vengara and Vallikunnu are the other six within the Malappuram parliamentary constituency.

In 2011 assembly election to the Perinthalmanna constituency, there were 165042 voters. Of them 78666 were males and 86376 were female voters.

Perinthalmanna Assembly Election Videos 2016