Peravoor Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Both the UDF and the LDF are poised for an intense contest for 2016 assembly polls. What worries both of them is the emergence of the BJP as a force to reckon with in the Peravoor assembly constituency. While the BJP has secured 4,055 votes in 2011, the party has consolidated its position by garnering over 10,000 votes in the 2015 local body election.

While the sitting Congress MLA has again been fielded by the party to contest the Peravoor seat for 2016 assembly elections, CPIM had nominated Binoy Kurien to contest the Peravoor seat for 2016.

Peravoor Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Adv. Sunny Joseph INC Won
Adv. Binoy Kurian CPM 57670
Paily Vathiattu BDJS 9129
P K Farookh SDPI 1935
Pallipram Prasannan WPI 513
Sunny Joseph Kallarakkal IND 389
Adv. K J Joseph IND 241
Bijoy Kurian IND 214
V D Binto IND 124
Sunny IND 110
Radhamani Narayana Kumar IND 63

Electoral History and Background

In the last election in 2011, Peravoor assembly constituency had elected Congress MLA Sunny Joseph who defeated CPM sitting MLA K.K. Shylaja by a margin of 3440 votes. While 56151 votes were polled in favpur of Sunny Joseph, the CPM member received 52711 votes and was followed by BJP’s P. K. Velayudhan who secured 4055 votes.

K.K. Shylaja had emerged victorious in 2006 when he had defeated the then sitting congress MLA A.D. Musthafa by a margin of 9,099 votes.

One of the eleven districts located in the Kannur district of Kerala, Peravoor is inhabited by a large number of rubber growers and workers.

In the Peravoor assembly constituency, female voters outnumber the males. According to the latest estimates by the Election Commission of India, the constituency has a total electorate of165457. Out of the total electors, 84597 are female voters and 80860 are males.

Peravoor is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Kannur Lok Sabha constituency. Azhikode, Taliparamba, Kannur, Irikkur, Dharmadam and Mattannur are the other six constituencies within the Kannur parliamentary constituency.

Peravoor Assembly Election Videos 2016