Peerumade Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

It is difficult to predict the out of the election to Peerumade assembly seat. In the 2015 local body elections, the Left Democratic Front won six panchayats and the United Democratic Front (UDF) managed to win three. Cyric Thomas, State vice president of the INTUC, is in the fray on behalf of the UDF. Pitted against him is the sitting CPI legislator E S Biji Mol of the LDF. Cyric Thomas is the son of former MLA K.K. Thomas.

Peerumade Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
E S Bijimol CPI Won
Adv. Syriac Thomas INC 56270
Kumar BJP 11833
Abdul Kadar AIADMK 2862
Benny Thomas BJP 489
Ramaswamy Govindan IND 175
Joseph M T IND 107

Electoral History and Background

E S Biji Mol is the sitting MLA of Peerumade assembly seat which he won second time in a row on behalf of the CPI by defeating E.M.Augusthy of the Congress by a margin of votes in a bipolar fight. In that election, while E S Biji Mol polled 56748 votes, the Congress candidate received 51971 votes and was followed by BJP’s P. P. Sanu who got 3380 votes.

One of the five assembly constituencies located in the Idukki district in Kerala, Peerumade is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Idukki Lok Sabha constituency. Devikulam, Thodupuzha, Udumbanchola, Idukki, Muvattupuzha and Kothamangalam are the other six constituencies with the Idukki parliamentary constituency.

Tamil estate workers form a substantial chunk of the voters in the Peerumade assembly constituency which is formed by the areas covered by the nine gram panchayats of Ayyappancoil, Kokkayar, Chakkupallom, Kumily, Elappara, Peruvanthanam, Peerumade, Upputhara and Vandiperiyar.

In the Peerumade assembly constituency, female voters outnumber the males. According to the latest estimates by the Election Commission of India, the constituency has a total electorate of165380. Out of the total electors, 83387 are female voters and 81993 are males.

Peerumade Assembly Election Videos 2016