Payyannur Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

The Payyannur constituency is an impregnable fort of the LDF which is controlling Payyannur municipality and all five of the six gram panchayats that form parts of the constituency. Only one panchayat is being ruled by the UDF. In the 2014 Lok Sabha election, the CPI (M)’s P. Karunakaran had led from the Payyannur assembly segment by 28,142 votes over his nearest rival. The BJP has also enhanced its vote share in the constituency from 5,019 in the 2011 Assembly poll to 12,872 in the 2014 parliamentary poll.

Payyannur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
C Krishnan CPM Won
Sajid Mavval INC 42963
Aniamma Teacher BJP 15341
Vinod Kumar Ramanthali CPI(ML)R 870

Electoral History and Background

Payyannur constituency is currently held by the CPI (M)’s C. Krishnan who won the seat in 2011 by defeating his nearest congress rival K. Brijesh Kumar by a huge margin of 32,124 votes. While 78116 votes were polled in favpur of C. Krishnan, the Congress nominee received 45992 votes and was followed by BJP’s C.K.Ramesan Master who secured 5019 votes.

Pinarayi Vijayan, CPM heavyweight and the party’s Polit Bureau member, was elected from the Payyannur seat in 1996. CPM has been winning the seat since 1965 and has never lost an election to the constituency.

Located in the Kannur district of Kerala, Payyannur is formed by the areas covered by Payyannur municipality, Cherupuzha, Eramam-Kuttoor, Karivellur-Peralam, Kankol-Alappadamba, Ramanthali and Peringome-Vayakkara panchayats.

Payyannur is one of the seven assembly segments that combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Kasaragod. Manjeswar, Kasaragod, Udma, Kanhangad, Trikkarpur and Kalliasseri are the other six assembly constituency located within the Kasaragod parliamentary constituency.

In the 2011 assembly election to Payyannur, the constituency had a total electorate of158613. Of them, 73365 were male voters and 85248 were women voters.

Payyannur Assembly Election Videos 2016