Pattambi Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Fifteen years ago Pattambi used to be the stronghold of Left. However, the Congress has been winning the seat since 2001. While the Congress has once again fielded its sitting legislator C.P. Mohammed to contest the Pattambi seat in 2016 assembly elections, JNU student leader Mohammed Mohsin is the LDF nominee representing the Communist party of India. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) does not have much of a presence in the constituency.

Pattambi Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Muhammed Muhassin CPI Won
C P Mohammed INC 56621
Adv. P. Manoj BJP 14824
Abdul Raoof C Socialist Democratic Party Of India 1848
M A Moideenkutty Master WPI 815
Muhsin IND 525
Aboobacker P PDP 422
Muhasin Pacheri IND 315
Muhammed Cheruvasseri Palliy IND 126
Mohamed Muhsin Paloli IND 101
Noby Augustine IND 62

Electoral History and Background

Close to the Chief Minister Oommen Chandy C.P. Mohammed is the sitting MLA of Pattambi which he won in 2011 on behalf of the Congress third time in a row by defeating his nearest CPI rival K.P. Suresh Raj by a margin of 12475 votes in a bipolar contest. While 57728 votes were polled by C.P. Mohammed, the CPI nominee polled 45253 votes and was followed by BJP’s Pookkattiri Babu who received just 8874 votes.

Pattambi had been once represented once by Left stalwarts such as E.M.S. Namboodiripad and E.P. Gopalan. CPI leader K.E. Ismail had also won the seat three times in 1982, 1991 and 1996.

Located in the Palakkad district in Kerala, Pattambi is one of the seven assembly constituencies which combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Palakkad. Kongad, Mannarkkad, Malampuzha, Ottapalam, Shoranur and Palakkad are the other six assembly constituencies within the Palakkad parliamentary constituency.

According to the latest figures by the Election Commission of India, Pattambi assembly constituency, which has more female voters than males, is home to a total electorate of 176860 voters of which 90431 are females and 86429 are male voters.

Pattambi Assembly Election Videos 2016