Pathanapuram Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the United Democratic Front (UDF) candidate Kodikunnil Suresh had secured a lead of 14,919 votes over his nearest Left Democratic Front (UDF) rival Chengara Surendran in the Pathanapuram assembly segment. However, in the 2015 local body polls, the LDF went on to win the seven of the eight grama panchayats.

All the nominees of the three major political fronts contesting the Pathanapuram assembly seat in Kerala are popular film starts. Actor K.B. Ganesh Kumar of the Kerala Congress (B) is contesting for his fourth consecutive win in 2016 assembly elections on behalf of the Left Democratic Front (LDF). Taking on him are Jagadesh of the Congress and Bheeman Reghu of the BJP.

Pathanapuram Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
K.B. Ganesh Kumar KEC(B) Won
Reghu Damodharan (Bheeman Reghu) BJP 11700
Adv. Faizy M Pasha SDPI 3843
Perinadu Gopala Krishnan BSP 846
Rekhu.P IND 366
Sudheer.M.G SHS 254
Chandrasehkara Pillai M.G IND 194
Madhu.R IND 105

Electoral History and Background

K.B. Ganesh Kumar of Kerala Congress (B) is the sitting MLA of Pathanapuram which he won in 2011 third time in a row by defeating his nearest CPIM rival K. Rajagopal by a margin of 20402 votes. While 71421 votes were polled by Ganesh Kumar, the CPIM candidate secured 51019 votes. Subhash Pattazhy of the BJP was relegated to the third place with just 2839 votes.

Pathanapuram is one of the seven assembly segments that combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Mavelikkara. Changanassery, Kuttanad, Mavelikkara, Chengannur, Kunnathur and Kottarakkara are the other six assembly constituency located within the Mavelikkara parliamentary constituency.

One of the 11 assembly constituencies located in the Kollam district of Kerala, Pathanapuram is composed of the grama panchayats of Piravanthur, Pathanapuram, Pattazhi, Thalavur, Pattazhi Vadakkekara, Vilakudi, Vettikavala and Melila.

Pathanapuram assembly constituency has a total electorate of187013. Out of the total electors, 98856 are females and 88157 are females.

Pathanapuram Assembly Election Videos 2016