Paravur Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

While the United Democratic Front (UDF) has nominated its sitting Congress legislator V.D. Satheesan to contest the Paravur assembly seat in 2016 assembly elections, Sharada Mohanis of the Communist Party of India (CPI) is the LDF nominee.

Paravur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
V D Satheesan INC Won
Hari Vijayan BDJS 28097
V M Faizal Socialist Democratic Party Of India 923
Sijikumar K K BSP 557
Shinsa Selvaraj IND 302
Sathyanesan IND 261
Jose Thomas IND 200

Electoral History and Background

V.D. Satheesan of the Congress is the sitting MLA of Paravur assembly seat which he won in 2011 by defeating his nearest rival Pannian Raveednran of the CPI by a margin of 11349 votes in a bipolar fight. In that election while E.S. Purushothaman polled 74632 votes, the CPIM candidate received 63283 votes and was followed by BJP’s E.S. Purushothaman who secured 3934 votes.

One of the fourteen assembly constituencies located in the Ernakulam district in Kerala, Paravur assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by the municipalities of North Paravur as well as gram panchayts of Chittatukara, Chendamangalam, Ezhikkara, Puthenvelikkara, Kottuvalli, Varapuzha and Vadakkekara.

Paravur is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Ernakulam. Kochi, Kalamassery, Ernakulam, Thrippunithura, Thrikkakara and Vypeen are the other six constituencies within the Ernakulam.

As is the case with most of the assembly constituencies in Kerala, in the Paravur assembly constituency female voters outnumber the males. According to the latest estimates by the Election Commission of India, there are 188619 registered voters in Paravur, among them 188619 are women and 97509 are men. The Christian church plays a crucial role in the poll outcome of the Paravur assembly seat.

Paravur Assembly Election Videos 2016