Parassala Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

A keen contest between Left Democratic Front (LDF) and United Democratic Front (UDF) is on cards in the coming assembly election to the Parassala. In fact, it is too close to make a call. While C K Harindran is the UDF nominee, the sitting Congress MLA A.T. George is facing the electorate on behalf of the UDF.

Parassala Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
C.K. Harindran CPM Won
A.T. George INC 51590
Karamana Jayan BJP 33028
Binoy S BSP 745
Shaju Paliyodu IND 732
Dalumugham Johny Thampy IND 294
Vellarada Mohanraj IND 287
V Selvan IND 243
Shajahan Kudappanamoodu IND 163

Electoral History and Background

Currently Parassala assembly constituency is held by the Congress’s A.T. George who wrested the seat from the CPIM in 2011 by Anavoor Nagappan of the CPIM by a thin margin of 505 votes. In that election, while A.T. George, a trade union leader, polled 60578 votes, the CPIM nominee received 60073 votes and was followed by BJP’s S. Suresh who got 10310 votes.

In 2006 Parassala assembly seat was won by R. Selvaraj of the CPI (M). He was elected from the Neyyattinkara assembly seat in 2011. He however defected to the Congress and successfully contested the Neyyattinkara in a bye-poll on the ticket of the Congress.

Parassala is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Thiruvananthapuram. Thiruvananthapuram, Kazhakuttom, Nemom, Kovalam, Neyyattinkara and Vattiyurkavu are the other six assembly segments within Thiruvananthapuram Lok Sabha

Among the seven constituencies the Parassala assembly segments has the number of voters.

Sharing border with Tamil Nadu, Parassala is inhabited by a larger rural population. The constituency is formed by the areas covered by the nine gram panchayats.

In 2011 election to the Parassala assembly constituency, the constituency had a total electorate of 188442. Out of the total electors, 98186 were female voters and 90256 were males.

Parassala Assembly Election Videos 2016