Palakkad Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Palakkad is home to the only municipality in Kerala where the BJP is in power. While two grama panchayats that are within the jurisdiction of Palakkad are held by the Left Democratic Front, the remaining one is governed by the United Democratic Front. While the Congress has fielded its sitting legislator Shafi Parambil for the 2016 assembly elections, the BJP has nominated Sobha Surendran who had unsuccessfully contested the Palakkad Lok Sabha seat in 2014 on the ticket of the party. CPM has made N N Krishnadas its nominee.

Palakkad Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Shafi Parambil INC Won
Sobha Surendran BJP 40076
N N Krishnadas CPM 38675
Hari Arumbil BSP 411
Dr M N Anuvarudheen IND 364

Electoral History and Background

Palakkad assembly constituency is currently held by Shafi Parambil who won the seat in 2011 by defeating his nearest rival and the then sitting CPM MLA K. K. Divakaran by a margin of 7403 votes in a tri-cornered contest. In that election while Shafi Parambil polled 47641 votes, the CPM nominee received 40238 votes and was followed by BJP’s C. Udaybhaskar who secured 22317 votes.

K. K. Divakaran was elected in 2006 by defeating A.V. Gopinathan of the Congress.

Home to a sizeable population of linguistic minorities, Palakkad constituency has 1,72,875 voters out of which 88821 are male voters and 84054 are female voters. The constituency is formed by the areas covered by Palakkad municipality and three gram panchayats.

Located in the district of the same name, Palakkad is one of the seven assembly constituencies which combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of the same name. Kongad, Mannarkkad, Malampuzha, Ottapalam, Shoranur and Pattambi are the other six assembly constituencies within the Palakkad parliamentary constituency.

Palakkad Assembly Election Videos 2016