Pala Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Pala assembly constituency is a pocket borough of K M Mani who would be contesting for a win for the 13th consecutive time from the constituency in the upcoming 2016 assembly election in more than 50 years of his political career. In 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Jose K Mani, the candidate of the UDF, of which Mani’s KC (M) is a part, has secured a thumping lead of 31399 votes from the Pala segment.

BJP led NDA has nominated former KC (M) leader P C Thomas to take on Mani. In 2004 Lok Sabha elections P C Thomas had defeated Jose K Mani, son of K M Mani, from the erstwhile Moovatupuzha parliamentary seat.

Pala Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
K M Mani KEC(M) Won
Mani C Kappen NCP 54181
N Hari BJP 24821
None of the Above None of the Above 907
Adv. Jose Thomas Pandiyammak IND 489
Antony IND 217
Shaiju Ponkunnam IND 103
Hassan Kunju P S IND 90
Babu IND 83

Electoral History and Background

K M Mani of the KC (M) is the sitting MLA of Pala which he won in 2011 by trouncing his nearest Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) rival Mani.C.Kappen by a margin of 5259 votes. In that year while 61239 votes were polled by K M Mani, the NCP nominee secured 55980 votes and was followed by BJP’s B.Vijayakumar who got just 6359 votes.

Pala constituency has been a stronghold of K M Mani since 1965.

Located in the Kottayam district of Kerala, Pala is one of the seven assembly constituencies which combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Kottayam. Kottayam, Ettumanoor, Puthuppally, Kaduthuruthy, Vaikom and Piravom are the other six assembly constituencies within the Kottayam parliamentary constituency.

Pala was earlier part of the now extinct Moovatupuzha Lok Sabha constituency.

In the last assembly election to Pala constituency, the total number of electors was 175066. Of them 82923 were males and the rest comprised of females whose number stood at 92143

Pala Assembly Election Videos 2016