Ottappalam Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Ottappalam is the stronghold of the Left democratic front (LDF) which has fielded P Unni to contest the Ottappalam assembly constituency in 2016 assembly elections. Shanimol Usman, a former All India Congress Committee secretary has been nominated by the Congress to contest on behalf of the United Democratic Front (UDF). P. Venugopal of the BJP is again facing the electorate on behalf of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA).

Ottappalam Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
P. Unni CPM Won
Adv. Shanimol Osman INC 51073
P. Venugopalan BJP 27605
A.A. Sulfikar Socialist Democratic Party Of India 1166
K T Padmini BSP 811
S.R. Prakash IND 805
M.S. Suneesh SHS 399
Suresh Velayudhan IND 180

Electoral History and Background

M Hamsa is the sitting MLA of Ottappalam which he won on behalf of the CPIM by defeating his nearest Congress rival V.K. Sreekandan by a margin of 13203 votes in 2011. While 65023 votes were polled by Hamsa, the Congress nominee secured 51820 votes and was followed by BJP’s P. Venugopal who received 9631votes.

In 2006 M Hamsa had defeated V.C. Kabeer of the Congress. Kabeer had been elected from the constituency in 1980, 1982, 1991, 1996 and 2001. In all these years he was with the LDF. Congress leaders P. Balan and K. Sankaranarayanan had emerged victorious from the seat in 1977 and 1987 respectively.

Located in the Palakkad district in Kerala, Ottappalam assembly constituency is one of the seven assembly constituencies which combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Palakkad. Shoranur, Pattambi, Kongad, Mannarkkad, Malampuzha and Palakkad are the other six assembly constituencies within the Palakkad parliamentary constituency.

Ottappalam Municipality is covered by the Ottappalam assembly constituency which also contains the grama panchayats of Ambalapara, Karimpuzha, Kadampazhipuram, Lakkidi-Perur, Sreekrishnapuram, Pookkottukavu and Thachanattukara.

In the 2011 assembly poll to Ottappalam, there was a total electorate of 175066. Out of the total electors, 82923 were males and 92143 were females.

Ottappalam Assembly Election Videos 2016