Ollur Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

It is too close to make a call in Ollur assembly constituency. Though four panchayats under the Ollur assembly constituency are held by LDF, UDF is equally strong in the city Corporation. In the last fourteen assembly elections, the UDF has won nine times and the Left candidates have emerged victorious five times. CPI has nominated K Rajan to contest the Ollur seat in 2016 assembly polls.

Ollur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Adv.K Rajan CPI Won
M P Vincent INC 58418
P.K. Santhosh (Lala) BDJS 17694
Majeed Mullakara PDP 696
Sajimon Manjamattam CPI(ML)R 334
Vincent M D Marottikkal IND 279
K. G. Rajan IND 267
V. N. Asokan IND 214

Electoral History and Background

M.P. Vincent of the Congress is the sitting MLA of Ollur which he won in the 2011 Assembly election by defeating the then sitting CPI MLA Rajajai Mathew Thomas by a margin of 6,247 votes. While M.P. Vincent polled 64823 votes, Rajajai Mathew Thomas received 58576 votes and was followed by BJP’s Sundararajan Master who secured 6761 votes.

Rajaji Mathew Thomas was elected from the Ollur assembly constituency in 2006.

Ollur is one of the seven assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Thrissur. Manalur, Guruvayur, Thrissur, Nattika , Irinjalakuda and Pudukkad are the other six assembly segments located within Thrissur Lok Sabha constituency.

Christian voters play an important role in the outcome of the election to constituency.

The semi-urban assembly constituency of Ollur is formed by the areas covered by the panchayats of Madakkathara, Pananchery, Nadathara and Puthur as well as the city Corporation divisions 12, 13, 23 to 31 and 40 to 42.

In the Ollur assembly constituency, female voters outnumber the males. According to the latest estimates by the Election Commission of India, the Ollur assembly constituency has a total electorate of191244. Of them 92767 are males and 98477 are females.

Ollur Assembly Election Videos 2016