Nemom Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

A keen triangular contest is on the cards in the Nemom assembly constituency where the BJP had emerged runner-up in the last assembly election in 2011. While the BJP has again nominated its veteran leader O. Rajagopal, the United Democratic Front (UDF) has once again shown confidence in its sitting legislator V. Sivankutty.

Nemom Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
O Rajagopal BJP Won
V.Sivankutty CPM 59142
V.Surendran Pillai JD(U) 13860
A.Noushad AKTP 406
Shamlaja Beevi.B IND 330
J.Vikraman Prachalloor IND 170
Jain Wilson IND 163
Saileswara Babu.N IND 114

Electoral History and Background

V Sivankutty of the CPIM is the sitting MLA of Nemom which he won in 2011 by trouncing his nearest BJP rival O. Rajagopal by a margin of 6415 votes. In that year while 50076 votes were polled by V Sivankutty, O. Rajagopal secured 43661 votes. Socialist Janata Dal (SJD) leader Charupara Ravi, who entered the fray on behalf of the UDF, was relegated to the third place with 20248 votes.

Former Congress Chief Minister K. Karunakaran was elected from the Nemom assembly seat in 1982. However as he had also won the Mala seat in that year, he vacated the Nemom seat. In the bye-election Congress’s E. Ramesan Nair, who had won the seat in 1980, emerged victorious.

Earlier, Nemom had elected the late Congress Chief Minister K. Karunakaran in 1982. Congress veteran S. Varadarajan Nair was elected from the seat in 1977.

Nemom is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Thiruvananthapuram. Thiruvananthapuram, Kazhakuttom, Vattiyurkavu, Kovalam, Neyyattinkara and Parassala are the other six assembly segments within Thiruvananthapuram Lok Sabha

In the Nemom assembly constituency, female voters outnumber the males. According to the latest estimates by the Election Commission of India, the constituency has a total electorate of 172493. Out of the total electors, 89672 are female voters and 83421are males.

Nemom Assembly Election Videos 2016