Nedumangad Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

A fierce triangular contest is in the offing for 2016 assembly election to Nedumangad. While the Congress has once again nominated its sitting MLA Palode Ravi to contest the Nedumangad assembly seat in 2016 elections, C Divakaran of the CPIM is in the fray on behalf of the LDF which had won the Nedumangad municipality, a part of the constituency. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP had secured 15,340 votes in the Nedumangad assembly segment, a sharp rise from 5,971 in 2011 Assembly election. C Divakaran is the sitting CPI MLA of Karunagapally.

Nedumangad Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Electoral History and Background

Deputy Speaker Palode Ravi is the sitting MLA of Nedumangad which he won for the Congress in 2011 by defeating P. Ramachandran Nair of the CPI by a margin of 5,030 votes.

Palode Ravi had also emerged victorious in 1991 and 1996. He was defeated by Mankode Radhakrishnan of the CPI in 2001 and 2006 by thin margins of 156 votes and 86 votes respectively.

Nedumangad is one of the seven assembly segments that combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Attingal. Vamanapuram, Aruvikkara, Kattakada, Attingal, Chirayinkeezhu and Varkala are the other six assembly constituencies within Attingal Lok Sabha seat.

Besides the Nedumangad municipality, the Assembly constituency is composed of the gram panchayats of Andoorkkonam, Karakulam, Manikkal, Pothencode and Vembayam.

Small-scale rubber farmers constitute a sizeable population in the Nedumangad constituency.

According to the latest revelations by the Election Commission of India, Nedumangad assembly constituency, where female voters outnumber the males, has a total electorate of 1,99,257. Of them, 94,344 are male voters and 10,4913 are women voters.

Nedumangad Assembly Election Videos 2016