Mattannur Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Mattannur is a stronghold of the CPIM whose candidate for the Kannur parliamentary constituency P.K. Sreemathy had secured a handsome lead of 20,733 votes over her Congress rival K. Sudhakaran from the Mattannur assembly segment. CPI (M) is a dominant force in Mattannur municipality and all the eight panchayats that are parts of the constituency. CPIM has once again nominated its sitting MLA E.P. Jayarajan Jayarajan to contest the seat in the 2016 assembly elections.

Mattannur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
E. P. Jayarajan CPM Won
K. P. Prasanth JD(U) 40649
Biju Elakkuzhi BJP 18620
Rafeekh Keecheri SDPI 3188
Kodippadi Prasanth IND 770

Electoral History and Background

Currently represented by E.P. Jayarajan, Mattannur assembly seat was won by him in 2011 by defeating his nearest Socialist Janta (Democratic) rival Joseph Chaavara by a huge margin of 30512 votes. In that only election to the seat, while 75177 votes were polled in favour of E.P. Jayarajan, Socialist Janata (Democratic) candidate received SJD votes and was followed by BJP’s Biju Elakkuzhi who got 8707 votes.

One of the eleven constituencies located in the Kannur district of Kerala, the Mattannur assembly constituency came into being in 2011 on the recommendations of the delimitation commission. The constituency is formed by the areas covered by Mattannur municipality as well as Chittariparamba, Malur, Mangattidam, Kolayad, Keezhallur, Koodali , Thillankery and Padiyur-Kallyad panchayat.

Mattannur is one of the seven assembly constituencies falling under the Lok Sabha constituency of Kannur. Taliparamba, Azhicode, Kannur, Dharmadam, Irikkur and Peravoor are other six that are within the Kannur parliamentary constituency.

In the 2011 assembly election to the Mattannur constituency, there was a total electorate of 160711. Out of the total electors 75633 were males and 85078 were female voters.

Mattannur Assembly Election Videos 2016