Mannarkkad Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

An intense contest is in the offing in Mannarkkad assembly constituency in 2016 assembly polls. While the Indian Union Muslim league (IUML), a constituent of the United Democratic Front (UDF) has once again nominated its sitting MLA N Shamsuddin to contest the seat in 2016 elections, K P Suresh Raj, son of veteran CPI leader U. Madhavan, is the nominee of the Left Democratic Front (LDF). The Bharath Dharma Jana Sena (BDJS) is contesting the seat on behalf of the BJP led NDA and has nominated Kesavade Pudumana.

Mannarkkad Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Adv. N. Samsudheen.N IUML Won
K.P. Suresh Raj CPI 60838
Kesavadev Puthumana BDJS 10170
M. Sulaiman WPI 1112
Shamsudheen Thottasseri IND 622
Ajikumar. K CPI(ML)R 478
Yoosaf Alanallur Socialist Democratic Party Of India 412
Suresh Babu. M SHS 331
George Kutty. E.V IND 273

Electoral History and Background

IUML’s N Shamsuddin is the sitting MLA of Mannarkkad which he won in 2011 by defeating his nearest rival V. Chamunni of CPIM by a margin of 8270 votes. In that election to Mannarkkad, while 60191 votes were polled by N Shamsuddin, the CPIM nominee secured 51921 votes. C.K .Kunhimuhammed of the BJP was relegated to the third place with just 1989 votes.

Mannarkkad is one of the seven assembly constituencies which combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Palakkad. Kongad, Pattambi, Malampuzha, Ottapalam, Shoranur and Palakkad are the other six assembly constituencies within the Palakkad parliamentary constituency.

The Mannarkkad Assembly constituency is home to a large concentration of the tribal people. Located in the Palakkad district of Kerala, the constituency is formed by the eares covered by gram panchayats of Agali, Kottoppadam, Alanallur, Kumaramputhur, Pudur, Mannarkkad and Sholayur located in the Mannarkkad Taluk.

Like most of the assembly constituencies in Kerala, in Mannarkkad assembly constituency too, female voters outnumber the male voters. Of the total electors of 187451, 90978 are men and 96473 are women.

Mannarkkad Assembly Election Videos 2016