Manjeswaram Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Except in 2006 when the CPIM won the seat, the Indian Union Muslim league (IUML) candidates have been getting elected from the Manjeswaram assembly constituency since 1987. BJP is also a force to reckon with and has been runner-ups in the seat since 1987. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the candidate of UDF, of which IUML is a constituent, secured lead and the BJP nominee came second relegating the Left party into the third place.

In the 2015 panchayat polls, while the UDF got 49,674 votes, the BJP won 43,452 votes and LDF secured 38,262 votes from the Manjeswaram assembly constituency.

While sitting IUML MLA P.B. Abdul Razak has once again nominated by the party to contest the seat in 2016 polls, the BJP yet again fielded K. Surendran and the CPI (M) has named C.H. Kunhambu, a former MLA.

Manjeswaram Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
P B Abdul Razak IUML Won
K Surendran BJP 56781
Adv. C.H.Kunhambu CPM 42565
Basheer Ahammad S M PDP 759
Sundara K IND 467
Ravichandra BSP 365
K P Muneer IND 224
John D Souza IND 207

Electoral History and Background

Manjeswaram assembly constituency is currently held by sitting IUML MLA P.B. Abdul Razak who wrested the seat from CPI (M) in 2011 by defeating his nearest BJP rival K. Surendran by a margin of 5,828 votes thereby relegating the CPIM into the third place. While 49817 votes were polled by P.B. Abdul Razak, the BJP nominee secured 43989 votes and was followed by CPI (M)'s who got 35067 votes.

Manjeswaram is one of the seven assembly constituencies falling under the Kasaragod Lok Sabha constituency. Trikaripur, Kasaragod, Udma, Kanhangad, Kalliassery and Payyannur are the other six assembly segments within the Kasaragod parliamentary constituency.

Manjeswaram, the northern most assembly segment in the Kasaragod Lok Sabha constituency, is inhabited by Kannada-speaking linguistic minorities.

In the 2011 assembly election to the Manjeswaram constituency the constituency had a total electorate of 176817. Of them 88748 were males and 88069 were female voters.

Manjeswaram Assembly Election Videos 2016