Manjeri Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) candidate from the Malappuram Lok Sabha constituency E. Ahamed had secured a thumping lead of 26,062 votes over his nearest CPI rival P K Sainaba in the Manjeri Assembly segment. In 2015 local bodies polls, the UDF has won the Manjeri municipality and grama panchayats of Keezhattur and Pandikkad , the LDF is in power in the Thrikkalangode grama panchayat. While CPI has fielded All India Trade Union Congress (AITUC) member K. Mohandas to contest the seat in 2016 assembly elections, IUML has nominated sitting MLA M. Ummer once again. C. Dinesh is in the fray on behalf of the BJP.

Manjeri Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Adv. M Ummer IUML Won
Adv. K.Mohandas CPI 50163
Adv. C.Dinesh BJP 11223
K.A. Savad WPI 2503
Dr.C.H. Ashraf SDPI 2357
Moyin Bappu PDP 1121
V.M. Musthafa IND 887

Electoral History and Background

Manjeri assembly constituency is held by Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) MLA M. Ummer who won the seat in 2011 by defeating CPI's candidate P. Gouri by a margin of 29,079 votes in a bipolar contest. While 67594 votes were polled in favour of M. Ummer, the CPI nominee received 38515 votes and was followed by BJP’s P.G.Upendran who got 6319 votes.

Manjeri has been electing IUML candidates to the Kerala Assembly since 1967. Earlier IUML leader M.P.M. Ishaq Kurikkal had won from the seat five times.

Located in the Malappuram district Manjeri assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Manjeri municipality and grama panchayats of Pandikkad, Keezhattur, Thrikkalangode and Edappatta.

Manjeri is one of the seven assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Malappuram. Kondotty, Perinthalmanna, Mankada, Malappuram, Vengara and Vallikunnu are the other six within the Malappuram parliamentary constituency.

In Manjeri assembly constituency female voters outnumber males. Out of a total electorate of 1,88,952 who are eligible to exercise their franchise in the constituency, 96,137 are females and 92,815 are male voters.

Manjeri Assembly Election Videos 2016