Mananthavady Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Mananthavady assembly constituency is traditionally a stronghold of the United Democratic Front (UDF). However, Mananthavady municipality and three gram panchayats, parts of the constituency, were won by the LDF. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Communist party of India (CPI) candidate from the Wayanad Lok Sabha constituency Sathyan Mokeri of the Communist Party of India had secured a lead of 8666 votes in the Mananthavady assembly segment over his nearest Congress rival M.I. Shanavas who, however, won the Wayanad seat

Mananthavady Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
O R Kelu CPM Won
P K Jayalakshmi INC 61129
K Mohandas BJP 16230
Soman P N SDPI 1377
Lakshmi IND 1300
Annan Madakkimala BSP 679
Kelu Chayimmal IND 583
Vijayan CPI(ML)R 224
Usha K IND 205
Kelu Kolliyil IND 196
Nittamani K Kunhiraman IND 183

Electoral History and Background

In the only assembly election to Mananthavady in 2011, sitting MLA and Minister for Welfare of the Scheduled Tribes P.K. Jayalakshmi won by defeating her nearest rival K.C. Kunhiraman of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) by a margin of 12,734 votes. While 62996 votes were polled in favour of P.K. Jayalakshmi, the CPIM nominee received 50262 votes and was followed by BJP’s Irumuttoor Kunhaman who got 5732 votes.

Mananthavady, which came into being in 2011, is one of the seven assembly constituencies that combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Wayanad. Wandoor, Sulthan Bathery, Thiruvambady, Kalpetta, Eranad and Nilambur are the other six assembly segments within the Wayanad Lok Sabha constituency.

Mananthavady is one of the two assembly constituencies in Kerala which are reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled tribes. Inhabited by tribal people and settler farmers, the constituency is formed by the areas covered by the six grama panchayats of Panamaram, Edavaka, Thavinhal, Thondernad, Thirunelly and Vellamunda as well as Mananthavady municipality.

In Mananthavady assembly constituency female voters outnumber males. Out of a total electorate of 185580 in the constituency, 91397 are females and 94183 are male voters.

Mananthavady Assembly Election Videos 2016