Manalur Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Manalur assembly segment had given lead to the LDF candidate of Thrissur Lok Sabha, C. N. Jayadevan. LDF has nominated its former MLA Murali Perunnelly to contest the Manalur seat in 2016 assembly polls. A.N. Radhakrishnan is in the fray on behalf of the BJP. UDF has nominated Thrissur District Congress Committee president O. Abdu Rahiman Kutty.

Manalur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Murali Perunelly CPM Won
O Abdu Rahmankutty INC 51097
A N Radhakrishnan BJP 37680
Abhayan N A BSP 1180
Hussair K K Socialist Democratic Party Of India 1180
Moidutty Haji PDP 529
Shaji Kurian Pananghat IND 262
Soman Pillai IND 132

Electoral History and Background

P.A. Madhavan of the Congress is the sitting MLA of Manalur which he wrested from the CPIM in the 2011 Assembly election by defeating its nominee Baby John by a thin margin of 481 votes. While P.A. Madhavan polled 63077 votes, Baby John, CPIM’s district secretary, received 62596 votes and was followed by BJP’s P.M. Gopinathan who secured 10543 votes.

In 2006 Murali Perunnelly, who belongs to the Nair community, was elected on the ticket of the CPIM from the Manalur assembly constituency. KPCC president and former Kerala Speaker V.M. Sudheeran represented the seat from 1982 to 1991.

The largest assembly constituency in the Thrissur district of Kerala, Manalur is formed by the areas covered by the gram panachayats of Vadanappally, Arimbur, Choondal, Manalur, Kandanassery, Venkidangu, Pavaratty, Mullassery and Elavally as well as Thaikkad division of Guruvayur municipality.

Manalur is one of the seven assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Thrissur. Ollur, Guruvayur, Thrissur, Nattika , Irinjalakuda and Pudukkad are the other six assembly segments located within Thrissur Lok Sabha constituency.

In the Manalur assembly constituency, female voters outnumber the males. According to the latest estimates by the Election Commission of India, the assembly constituency has a total electorate of174941. Of them 85468 are males and 88573 are females. Manalur has a sizable number of Ezhava and Christian votes.

Manalur Assembly Election Videos 2016