Malappuram Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Malappuram is an impregnable citadel of the Indian Union Muslim League (IUML), a constituent of the United Democratic Front (UDF). In 2011 assembly elections while the IUML candidate P. Ubaidullah had polled 63.75 per cent of votes, the LDF candidate received 27.34 percent. In 2014 Lok Sabha polls too, the LDF nominee had polled 27.44 per cent votes in the Malappuram assembly segment. While P. Ubaidullah is seeking his reelection in 2016, the LDF has fielded K.P. Sumati. The BJP, which has a negligence presence in the constituency, has nominated Sayed Badushah Thangal.

Malappuram Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
P Ubaidulla IUML Won
Adv. K P Sumathi CPM 45400
Badusha Thangal K.N BJP 7211
E.C. Ayisha WPI 3330
Jaleel Neelambra SDPI 2444
Ashraf Pulpatta PDP 1550

Electoral History and Background

Malappuram is currently represented in the Legislative assembly of Kerala by P. Ubaidullah who won the seat in 2011 by defeating Madathil Sadikali of the Janata Dal (Secular) by a whopping margin of 44508 votes in a bipolar contest. While 77928 votes were polled by P. Ubaidullah, the JD(S) secured 33420 votes and was followed by Sadik Naduthodi of SDPI with 3968 votes.

K Velayudhan, who entered the contest on behalf of BJP, was relegated to the fourth place with just 3841 votes.

The Malappuram assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Malappuram municipality as well as Anakkayam, Kodur, Morayur, Pookottur and Pulpatta panchayats.

Malappuram is one of the seven assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the Lok Sabha constituency of the same name in Kerala. Manjeri, Kondotty, Perinthalmanna, Mankada, Vengara and Vallikunnu are the other six within the Malappuram parliamentary constituency.

In the 2011 assembly election to Malappuram, a total electorate of 167739 was eligible to exercise their franchise in the constituency. Of them 84079 were females and 83660 were male voters.

Malappuram Assembly Election Videos 2016