Malampuzha Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

CPIM is comfortably placed in the Malampuzha assembly constituent from where LDF’s front-ranking leader and former CPM chief minister V S Achuthanandan will contest for his fourth consecutive win in the upcoming 2016 assembly polls. The UDF is all set to give a spirited fight to the CPIM. The BJP does not have much of a presence in the constituency.

Malampuzha Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
V.S. Achuthanandan CPM Won
C. Krishnakumar BJP 46157
V.S. Joy INC 35333
C.P. Sreedharan AIADMK 3154
Ravi Pallatheri BSP 326
Ramesh Puduppariyaram IND 297
S. Saravanan IND 220

Electoral History and Background

V S Joy is the fray on behalf of the United Democratic Front (UDF).

Malampuzha assembly constituency is currently held by V S Achuthanandan who won the seat third time in a row in 2011 by trouncing Lathika Subhash of Congress by a margin of 23440 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election while Achuthanandan polled 77752 votes, the UDF nominee received 54312 votes and was followed by JD (U)’s P. K. Majeed Pedikkatt who secured 2772 votes. The BJP did not contest in 2011.

Before Achuthanandan, senior CPI (M) leader T. Sivadasa Menon had represented the seat from 1987 to 2001. He was a minister in the LDF government on two occasions.

The rural constituency of Malampuzha is inhabited by agricultural labourers and working class. Malampuzha is one of the seven assembly constituencies which combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Palakkad. Pattambi, Kongad, Mannarkkad, Ottapalam, Shoranur and Palakkad are the other six assembly constituencies within the Palakkad parliamentary constituency.

In the 2011 assembly election to Malampuzha, a total electorate of 180648 was eligible to exercise their franchise in the constituency. Of them 92434 were females and 88214 were male voters.

Malampuzha Assembly Election Videos 2016