Kuttiadi Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Kuttiadi assembly constituency is all set for intense fight between Left Democratic Front (LDF) and United Democratic Front(UDF) in the coming 2016 Assembly polls. While LDF has again fielded its sitting MLA K.K.Lathika to contest the seat, Parakkal Abdulla of the Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) is in the fray as a nominee of the United Democratic Front. V.K. Sajeevan, the spokesman of the BJP, is the NDA candidate. He had also contested the 2011 assembly elections from the seat.

Kuttiadi Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Parakkal Abdulla IUML Won
K.K. Lathika CPM 70652
Ramadas Manaleri BJP 12327
P.C. Bhaskaran WPI 1125
Sabu Kakkattil SP 860
K.C. Kumaran IND 220
Naranathu Muhammad PDP 118
Parakkal Abdulla Palliyath IND 85
S.R. Khan Maniyoor IND 76
Palliyil Abdulla IND 62
Aluva Aneesh IND 57
Paremmal Abdulla IND 44

Electoral History and Background

Kuttiadi assembly constituency is currently represented by CPM's K.K.Lathika who won the seat in 2011 by defeating Soopy Narikkattery of IUML by a margin of 6972 votes. In the maiden election to the constituency while 70258 votes were polled by Lathika, the IUML nominee received 63286 votes and was followed by BJP's V.K. Sajeevan who secured 6272 votes.

Lathika had also won the now extinct assembly seat of Meppayur in 2006.

Located in the Kozhikode district, Kuttiadi is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Vadakara Lok Sabha constituency. Koyilandy, Perambra, Thalassery, Kuthuparamba, Vadakara and Nadapuram are the other six constituencies within the Vadakara parliamentary constituency.

Kuttiadi, which came into existence in 2011 following the recommendations of the Delimitaion Commision, is formed by the areas covered by the eight gram panchayats of Ayanchery, Kuttiyadi, Kunnummal, Purameri, Velam, Tiruvallur, Maniyoor and Villiappally.

In the 2011 assembly poll to Kuttiadi, there was a total electorate of 162389. Out of the total electors, 76275 were males and 86114 were females.

Kuttiadi Assembly Election Videos 2016