Kuttanad Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, UDF had secured a lead of 1,195 votes over the LDF. New political equations are shaping up. The emergence of BJP is also a factor in the coming 2016 assembly elections. Sitting NCP legislator Thomas Chandy is once again in the fray on behalf of the LDF. Competing against him is Jacob Abraham of Kerala Congress (M), a partner of UDF.

Kuttanad Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Thomas Chandy NCP Won
Adv. Jacob Abraham KEC(M) 45223
Subhash Vasu BDJS 33044
Nandanan Valiyaparambu SUCI(C) 371
Sanil.P.M(Sunny Pathinaril) BSP 354
Jose Koippally IND 263
Jacob Abraham Panavelil IND 262
Mohanan IND 105

Electoral History and Background

Thomas Chandy of the Nationalist Congress Party, a constituent of the LDF, is the sitting MLA of Kuttanad which he won by defeating Thomas Chandy of Kerala Congress (M) by a margin of 7,971 votes in 2011. In that election, Thomas Chandy had polled 60010 votes to defeat Thomas Chandy who is now with Kerala Congress (Democratic), a partner of the LDF.

Thomas Chandy had also won the seat in 2006 on behalf of the DIC(K). Earlier K.C. Joseph of the Kerala Congress (J) had represented the Kuttanad assembly constituency from 1982 to 2001.

Following the delimitation process in 2011, Veeyapuram from Haripad assembly seat and Nedumudy, Kainakari and Thakazhy grama panchayats from the Ambalappuzha assembly constituency have been integrated with the Kuttanad constituency.

Kuttanad is one of the seven assembly segments that combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Mavelikkara. Changanassery, Mavelikkara, Chengannur, Kunnathur Kottarakkara and Pathanapuram are the other six assembly constituency located within the Mavelikkara parliamentary constituency.

Kuttanad assembly constituency, where female voters outnumber the males, has a total electorate of 160851. Of them 77650 are males and 83201 are females.

Kuttanad Assembly Election Videos 2016