Kunnathunad Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

While the sitting Congress MLA V.P. Sajeendran is the LDF nominee for 2016 assembly election to Kunnathunad , Shiji Shivaji of the CPI(M) is ion the fray on behalf of the Left Democratic Front (LDF).

Kunnathunad Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
V P Sajeendran INC Won
Adv. Shiji Shivaji CPM 62766
Thuravoor Suresh BDJS 16459
N.O. Kuttappan SP 1263
Orna Krishnankutty PDP 653
Sajeendran Parappurathu IND 436
Manoj CPI(ML)(L) 116

Electoral History and Background

Kunnathunad assembly constituency is currently represented by V.P. Sajeendran of Congress who wrested the seat from the CPIM by defeating its candidate M.A. Surendran in 2011 by a margin of 8732 votes. In that election to the constituency while 63624 votes were polled by Sajeendran, the CPIM candidate received 54892 votes and was followed by BJP’s M. Ravi who secured 5862 votes.

The Kunnathunad assembly constituency had elected T.H. Mustafa in 1982, 1987, 1991 and 2001. M.M. Monayi of the CPI (M) emerged victorious in 2006 by defeating Congress leader P.P. Thankachan

One of the fourteen assembly constituencies located in the Ernakulam district in Kerala, Kunnathunad assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by gram panchayats of Ikaranadu, Kunnathunadu, Kizhakkambalam, Mazhuvannur, Thiruvaniyur, Puthrka, Vadavucode, Vazhakulam and Puthencruz.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the Scheduled Castes, Kunnathunad is one of the seven assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Chalakudy. Kaipamangalam, Kodungalloor, Chalakudy, Perumbavoor, Angamaly and Aluva are the other six within the Chalakudy parliamentary constituency. Kunnathunad is the only reserved constituency in the Ernakulam district.

As is the case with most of the assembly constituencies in Kerala, in the Kunnathunad assembly constituency, female voters outnumber the males. According to the latest estimates by the Election Commission of India, there are 170327 registered voters in Kunnathunad, among them 86268 are women and 84059 men.

Kunnathunad Assembly Election Videos 2016