Kunnamkulam Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

While C.P. John of the Communist Marxist Party (CMP) is once again the UDF candidate for the 2016 assembly elections, A C Moideen is in the contest as the nominee of the CPIM which has not nominated its sitting MLA Babu M. Palissery.

Kunnamkulam Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
A C Moideen CPM Won
C P John Communist Maxist Party 55492
Adv.K.K. Aneeshkumar BJP 29325
Jileef Abdul Khadar Socialist Democratic Party Of India 1204
Sulaiman PDP 710
P C Schariachan IND 267

Electoral History and Background

Babu. M. Palissery is the sitting MLA of Kunnamkulam assembly seat which he won on behalf of CPIM by defeating his nearest rival C.P.John of CMP by a thin margin of 481 votes. In that election, while Babu M. Palissery polled 58244 votes, C. P. John received 57763 votes and was followed by BJP’s K .K. Aneeshkumar who got 11725 votes.

Babu.M.Palissery was also elected from the seat 2006. T.V.Chandramohan of the Congress had won the seat in 1991 and 2001. He was defeated in 1996 by N.R.Balan of the CPI (M) in 1996.

Kunnamkulam is one of the seven assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Alathur. Nemmara, Tarur, Wadakkanchery, Chittur, Alathur and Chelakkara are the other six assembly segments located within the Alathur Lok Sabha constituency.

Located in the Thrissur district in Kerala, Kunnamkulam assembly constituency is formed by the eares covered by the Kunnamkulam Municipality as well as the gram panchayats of Chowannur, Kadangode, Kadavallur, Erumapetty, Kattakampal, Velur and Porkulam located in the Thalappilly Taluk.

Christian voters play an important role in the outcome of the election to Kunnamkulam constituency. In 2011 assembly election to the Kunnamkulam seat, the constituency had a total electorate of 174161. Of them, 82226 were men and the rest were women whose number stood at 91935.

Kunnamkulam Assembly Election Videos 2016