Kunnamangalam Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

It would be a triangular contest among UDF, LDF and BJP led NDA in the coming 2016 assembly election to the Kunnamangalam constituency. Former KPCC general secretary T. Siddique has been fielded by the Congress to contest the Kunnamangalam seat in 2016 assembly elections.

Kunnamangalam Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
P.T.A. Rahim IND Won
Siddiqu.T INC 66205
C.K.Padmanabhan BJP 32702
Latheef SDPI 1252
Rahim IND 726
Rajan BSP 304
Sidheeq IND 212
Siddeeque IND 206
Aboobacker Siddiqu IND 176

Electoral History and Background

P.T.A. Rahim is the sitting MLA of Kunnamangalam which he won LDF supported independent candidate in 2011 by trouncing his nearest independent rival and then sitting MLA U.C. Raman, backed by UDF, by a margin of 3269 votes. While 66169 votes were polled by P.T.A. Rahim who was supported by LDF, U.C. Raman secured 62900 votes and was followed by BJP’s prominent leader in Kerala, C.K. Padmanabhan, who got 17123 votes.

U.C. Raman had emerged victorious in 2001 and 2006. P.T.A. Rahim was the winner of the Koduvally assembly seat in 2006.

Located in the Kozhikode district Kunnamangalam assembly seat was made an unreserved seat in 2011. The constituency is formed by the areas covered by gram panchayats Kunnamangalam, Chathamangalam, Peruvayal, Mavoor, Olavanna and Perumanna. Olavanna was integrated with the constituency by delinking it from the Beypore assembly constituency.

Kunnamangalam is one of the seven assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Kozhikode. Balussery, Koduvally, Kozhikode North, Kozhikode South, Beypore, and Elathur are the other six within the Kozhikode parliamentary constituency.

Kunnamangalam assembly constituency, which has more female voters than males, was home to a total electorate of 178089 voters in 2011. Of the total electors 91339 were females and 86750 are male voters.

Kunnamangalam Assembly Election Videos 2016