Kundara Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Till 2011 Kundra has the unique distinction of electing MLAs belonging to the ruling fronts in Kerala. That changed in 2011 when the M.A. Baby of the CPIM was elected though the United Democratic Front (UDF) formed the government in the state.

While the CPIM has once again nominated its former two-time MLA J. Mercykutty to contest the seat in 2016 elections, Rajmohan Unnithan of the Congress is in the fray on behalf of the UDF. The BJP has fielded M.S. Shyam Kumar.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections N.K. Premachandran of the RSP had secured a lead of 6,911 votes over his nearest rival M.A. Baby of the LDF in the Kundara segment. However, in 2015 local body elections, the LDF emerged victorious in all the seven panchayats of the Kundara assembly constituency.

Kundara Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
J.Mercy Kutty Amma CPM Won
Rajmohan Unnithan INC 48587
M S Syam Kumar BJP 20257
Sharafath Mallam SDPI 1325
Kabeer Kutty.I.Puthezham PDP 1132
S.M.Jaber BSP 698
Vijayakumar IND 485
V.Antony SUCI(C) 340

Electoral History and Background

M.A. Baby, who unsuccessfully contested the Kollam Lok Sabha seats in 2014, is the sitting MLA of Kundra which he won in 2011 seond time in a row by defeating his nearest Congress rival P. Jermias by a margin of 14793 votes. While 67135 votes were polled by M.A. Baby, the Congress candidate secured 52342 votes. Vellimon Dileep of the BJP was relegated to the third place with just 5990 votes.

Earlier J. Mercykutty had been elected from the seat in 1987 and 1996. She was defeated by Kadavoor Sivadasan of the Congress in 2001.

Kundara is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Kollam Lok Sabha constituency. Chavara, Chadayamangalam, Punalur, Kollam, Eravipuram and Chathannoor are the other six constituencies with the Kollam parliamentary constituency.

There are 195153 registered voters in Kundara, among them 102440 are women and 92713 men. Located in the Kollam district of Kerala, The assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by the gram panchayats of the Elampalloor, Kundara, Kottamkara, Nedumpana, Perayam Perinad and Thrikkovilvattom.

Kundara Assembly Election Videos 2016