Kozhikode North Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

In the 2014 Lok Sabha election, Congress candidate M.K. Raghavan had secured a lead of 1,500 over his rival CPI (M)’s A. Vijayaraghavan in the Kozhikode North assembly constituency. P M Suresh Babu of the Congress is the nominee of the United Democratic Front (UDF) for the 2016 assembly election to Kozhikode North. The BJP has a strong presence in the constituency where the party had polled about 23,000 votes in the local body poll in 2015. BJP state vice-president K P Sreesan is all set to give a tough fight to the candidates of the UDF and the LDF in Kozhikode North.

Kozhikode North Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
A Pradeep Kumar CPM Won
Adv. P M Suresh Babu INC 36319
K P Sreesan BJP 29860
Velayudhan.K.P BSP 457
Abdul Vahid SDPI 351
S Jennifer SUCI(C) 208
E Pradeep Kumar Peedikathodi IND 187
T Suresh Babu Kamaladhalam IND 151
Abdu Samad Kerala Janatha Party 122

Electoral History and Background

Kozhikode North assembly constituency is held CPIM A. Pradeep Kumar who won the seat in 2011 by defeating Congress candidate P.V Gangadharan by a margin of 8998 votes. While 57123 votes were polled in favour of Pradeep Kumar, the Congress nominee received 48125 votes and was followed by BJP’s P. Reghunath who got 9894 votes.

Formerly known as Kozhikode 1, Kozhikode North is one of the seven assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Kozhikode. Kunnamangalam, Balussery, Koduvally, Kozhikode South, Beypore and Elathur are the other six within the Kozhikode parliamentary constituency.

One of the thirteen assembly seats in the Kozhikode district in Kerala, the urban constituency of Kozhikode North is composed of the Wards No.1 to 16, 39, 40, 42 - 51 of Kozhikode Municipal Corporation.

In the 2011 assembly election to the Kozhikode North, the constituency had a total electorate of 150425. Of them 71473 were male voters and the rest were women who numbered at 78952.

Kozhikode North Assembly Election Videos 2016