Kovalam Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

The LDF enjoys the edge in the Kovalam assembly constituency which has the propensity to elect candidates from the Janata Parivar. Currently held by JD(S), a constituent of the LDF, the constituency is all set to witness a triangular contest among Left Democratic Front, United Democratic Front and Bharath Dharma Jana Sena (BDJS), an alliance partner of BJP. While LDF is sure of retaining the seat in the 2016 assembly election, the BDJS is confident of putting up a tough fight.

Kovalam Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Adv.M Vincent INC Won
Jameela Prakasam JD(S) 57653
Kovalam T N Suresh BDJS 30987
Adv.K. R Anish BSP 996
M.C. Jayalal IND 933
Pramod Kumar IND 564
Sarasamma.T Indian Gadhiyan Party 558
S Shaji AKTP 400
M Sugathan IND 389
Silvaster IND 373

Electoral History and Background

Kovalam assembly constituency is currently held by Jameela Prakasam who won the seat for the JD(S) in 2011 by defeating her nearest rival and sitting Congress MLA George Mercier by a margin of 7,205 votes in a bipolar contest.

While 59510 votes were polled in favour of Jameela Prakasam, George Mercier, a senior congress leader, secured 52305 votes. Venganoor Satheesh, who entered the fray on the ticket of BJP, was relegated to the third place with 9127 votes.

Earlier A. Neelalohitadas, husband of Jameela Prakasam, had won the seat in 1977, 1987, 1991, 1996 and 2001. He was defeated in 2006 by George Mercier.

Kovalam is one of the seven assembly segments that combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Thiruvananthapuram. Thiruvananthapuram, Kazhakuttom, Vattiyoorkavu, Nemom, Neyyattinkara and Parassala are the other six constituencies with the Thiruvananthapuram parliamentary constituency.

According to the latest revelations by the Election Commission of India, Kovalam has a total electorate of 203450. Of them, 99116 are male voters and 104334 are women voters. Female voters outnumber the males in the constituency.

Kovalam Assembly Election Videos 2016