Kottakkal Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) candidate from the Ponnani Lok Sabha constituency E T Mohammed Basheer had secured a lead of 11,881 votes over his nearest rival LDF backed independent candidate V. Abdurahman in the Kottakkal assembly constituency. However, the lead was much less than the 35,902 votes by which margin the party won the Kottakkal seat in 2011.

IUML has denied ticket to its sitting MLA to contest the seat in 2016 assembly polls. While the party has fielded K K Abid Husain Thangal to contest the seat in 2016 assembly elections, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP)’s N.A. Mohammed Kutty is the LDF nominee. Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha leader K.K. Surendran is in the fray on behalf of the BJP.

Kottakkal Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Abid Hussain Thangal IUML Won
N.A. Muhammed Kutty (Mammooty) NCP 56726
V. Unnikrishnan Master BJP 13205
Neyyathoor Kunhimohamed PDP 2763
K.P.O Rahmathulla SDPI 1719
C. Muhammed Kutty IND 579
Villan Mohammed Kutty IND 429
Bindu Devarajan IND 223
Sainul Abid Thangal IND 150
Beeran.K IND 105

Electoral History and Background

Abdussamad Samadani is the sitting MLA of Kottakkal which he won in 2011 on behalf of the IUML by trouncing his nearest NCP rival Dr.C.P.K.Gurukkal by a margin of 35,902 votes. While 69717 votes were polled by Abdussamad Samadani, the NCP nominee polled 33815 votes and was followed by BJP’s K.K. Surendran who received 7782 votes.

One of the sixteen assembly constituencies located in the Malappuram district , Kottakkal is one of the seven assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Ponnani. Tanur, Ponnani, Tirurangadi, Tavanur, Tirur and Thrithala are the other six within the Ponnani parliamentary constituency.

Kottakkal assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by the municipalities of Valanchery and Kottakkal as well as the grama panchayats of Irumbiliyam, Edayur, Ponmala and Kuttippuram.

In Kottakkal assembly constitueny female voters outnumber males. Out of a total electorate of 1,96,726 who are eligible to exercise their franchise in the constituency, 99,428 are females and 97,298 are male voters.

Kottakkal Assembly Election Videos 2016