Kothamangalam Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Kerala congress (M), a constituent of the United Democratic Front (UDF) has once again nominated its sitting MLA T.U.Kuruvilla to contest the Kothamangalam seat in 2016 elections. Former bureaucrat and social activist, P.C. Cyriac has entered the fray as an Independent backed by NDA. He had also unsuccessfully contested the Muvattupuzha assembly seat in 2006.

Kothamangalam Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Antony John CPM Won
Chev. T.U.Kuruvilla KEC(M) 46185
P C Cyriac IND 12926
Prof. N.A. Anas Socialist Democratic Party Of India 1490
Yahiya Thangal PDP 775
T.K.Kuruvila Thottathil IND 357
Adv. Cheriyan Abraham IND 261
Anto Johny IND 163

Electoral History and Background

T.U.Kuruvilla of the KC(M) is the sitting MLA of Kothamangalam which he won in 2011 by trouncing his nearest independent rival Skariah Thomas by a margin of 12222 votes. While 52924 votes were polled by T.U.Kuruvilla, Skariah Thomas secured 40702 votes. K.Radhakrishnan of the BJP was relegated to the third place with just 5769 votes.

T.U.Kuruvilla had also won the seat in 2006 when KC (M) was with the LDF.

One of the fourteen assembly constituencies located in the Ernakulam district in Kerala, Kothamangalam municipality is covered in the Kothamangalam assembly constituency which also contains the gram panchayats of Kavalangad, Kottapadi, Keerampara, Kuttampuzha, Pallarimangalam, Nellikuzhi, Pindimana and Varapetti. When it comes to area, Kothamangalam is the largest constituency in the district.

Kothamangalam is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Idukki Lok Sabha constituency. Devikulam, Thodupuzha, Idukki, Udumbanchola, Peermade and Muvattupuzha are the other six constituencies with the Idukky parliamentary constituency.

The Christian church plays an important party in political outcome in Kothamangalam assembly constituency which is home to a large population of Jacobites. Kothamangalam had a total of 144256 registered voters in 2011. Of them 70799 were women and 73457 were men. Majority of the voters are farmers.

Kothamangalam Assembly Election Videos 2016