Konni Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

The BJP had secured 18,222 votes in the Konni assembly constituency in the last general Lok Sabha polls in 2014, a significant rise from a mere 5994 votes in 2011. While CPI (M) district committee member R. Sanalkumar is the LDF candidate for 2016 assembly election to Konni, the Congress sitting MLA Adoor Prakash is the UDF nominee. Pitted against them is D. Asoka Kumar of the BJP.

Konni Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Adoor Prakash INC Won
Adv. R. Sanal Kumar CPM 52052
Ashoka Kumar D BJP 16713
Reyash SDPI 401
Joshi Joseph WPI 365
Suresh V IND 249
Biju Elamannoor IND 133
Vishnu S SHS 96

Electoral History and Background

Currently represented by Adoor Prakash, Konni was won by him in 2011 by defeating his nearest CPM rival M. S. Rajendran by a margin of 7774 votes. While 65724 votes were polled in favour of Adoor Prakash, the CPIM candidate received 57950 votes and was followed by BJP’s V. S. Harish Chandran who got 5994 votes.

Earlier, Adoor Prakash, a minister in the UDF government, had also won the seat in 1996, 2001 and 2006.

The largest Assembly segment in terms of geographical area in the Pathanamthitta district of Kerala, Konni is inhabited by plantation workers, settler farmers, traders and tribal people. Nair, Ezhava, and Christian are the main communities in the constituency.

In the Konni assembly constituency, female voters outnumber the males. According to the latest estimates by the Election Commission of India, the constituency has a total electorate of 193402. Out of the total electors, 102694 are female voters and 90708 are males.

Konni is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Pathanamthitta. Kanjirappally, Poonjar, Thiruvalla, Ranni, Aranmula and Adoor are the other six constituencies within the Pathanamthitta.

Konni Assembly Election Videos 2016