Koduvally Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Koduvally is a bastion of IUML, which is a party of United Democratic Front. It was due to the huge margin of votes garnered by UDF Kozhikode parliamentary constituency M.K. Raghavan at Koduvally segment that he was elected to the Lok Sabha second time in 2014. This is significant because he did not do so well in other segments of the Lok Sabha constituency. Four of the five gram panchayats as well as Koduvally municipality are under the control of the UDF.

Koduvally Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Karat Razack IND Won
M A Razak Master IUML 60460
Ali Akbar BJP 11537
Adv. P. K. Zakariyya WPI 1566
E. Nazar SDPI 1466
Abdul Razak K T IND 352
Sayyid Hussain Jiffiri Thangal IND 281
K P Aboobacker IND 112

Electoral History and Background

The Koduvally Assembly constituency has been electing UDF candidates since the first Assembly poll in 1957 barring 2006 when the constituency chose to elect LDF-supported Independent candidate P.T.A. Rahim.

Koduvally constituency is currently held by IUML’s V.M.Ummer Master who won the seat in 2011 by defeating his nearest CPM rival M.Mehaboob by a huge margin of 16552 votes. While 60365 votes were polled in favour of V.M.Ummer Master, the CPM nominee received 43813 votes and was followed by BJP’s Gireesh Thevally who secured 6519 votes.

Earlier IUML’s candidates have been wining the seat since 1977 except 2006.

Koduvally Assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Koduvally municipality as well as Narikkuni, Kizhakkoth, Narikkuni, Madavoor, Omassery and Thamarassery.

Koduvally is one of the seven assembly segments that combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Kozhikode. Balusseri, Kozhikode North, Kozhikode South, Beypore, Kunnamangalam and Elathur are the other six assembly constituency located within the Kozhikode parliamentary constituency.

In the 2011 assembly election to Koduvally, the constituency had a total electorate of 142384. Out of the total electors, 70110 were males and 72274 were females.

Koduvally Assembly Election Videos 2016