Kodungallur Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, while the Left Democratic Front (LDF) had secured 40.6 per cent votes in the Kodungallur assembly segment, the United Democratic Front (UDF) secured 37.5 per cent votes and was followed by the BJP which received 14.2 per cent votes. In the 2015 local body elections, while the LDF secured 43.62 per cent votes, the UDF got 34.79 per cent votes. The BJP also became a force to reckon with by making significant jump to 22.94 per cent.

Kodungallur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Adv. R Sunilkumar CPI Won
K P Dhanapalan INC 45118
Adv. Sangeetha Viswanathan BDJS 32793
A K Manaf Socialist Democratic Party Of India 558
Adv.C K Radhakrishnan IND 411
P K Subramanian BSP 367
Rajan Painat IND 210
C S Krishnakumar SUCI(C) 200
Kattu Kandathil Joshy Kumar IND 125

Electoral History and Background

T.N. Prathapan is the sitting Congress MLA of Kodungallur which he won in 2011 by defeating K.G. Sivanandan of the CPI by a margin of 9,432 votes. While 64495 votes were polled in favour of T.N. Prathapan, the CPI nominee received 55063 votes and was followed by BJP’s I.R.Vijayan who got 6732 votes.

The Kodungallur assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Kodungallur municipality and Poyya, Mala, Kuzhur, Puthenchira, Annamanada and Vellankallur gram panhayats. Vellankallur and Puthenchira were earlier parts of the erstwhile Mala assembly constituency which ceased to exist before 2011.

Located in the Thrissur district of Kerala, Kodungallur is one of the seven assembly segments the combination of which goes on to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Chalakudy. Kaipamangalam, Chalakudy, Perumbavoor, Angamaly, Aluva and Kunnathunad are the other six within the Chalakudy parliamentary constituency.

In 2011 assembly election to Kodungallur constituency, Kodungallur assembly constituency had a total electorate of 169056. Out of the total electors, 80962 were males and 88094 were female voters.

Kodungallur Assembly Election Videos 2016