Kochi Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

The BJP had doubled its vote share in the Kochi assembly constituency in the last general Lok Sabha polls in 2014, from what it got in 2011. On the other hand both the UDF and the LDF suffered a drop in vote share between 2011 and 2014. The Congress had lost majority of Corporation divisions and the Chellanam panchayat falling under the constituency.

Kochi Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
K J Maxi CPM Won
Dominic Presentation INC 46881
Praveen Dhamodara Prabhu BJP 15212
K J Leenus IND 7588
A.S. Muhammed WPI 2357
Sulfikar Ali Socialist Democratic Party Of India 2108
T.P. Antony PDP 386
Johny Stephen IND 180
Jayaraj K S IND 172
Abdul Samad IND 101

Electoral History and Background

Currently represented by the Congress legislator Dominic Presentation, Kochi assembly constituency was won by him in 2011 by defeating his nearest CPM rival M.C.Josephine by a margin of 16503 votes. In the first election to the Kochi Assembly constituency in 2011, while Dominic Presentation polled 56352, the CPIM candidate received 39849 votes and was followed by BJP’s K. Sasidharan Master who got 5480 votes.

In 2006 Dominic Presentation had lost to CPI (M)’s Dinesh Mani from the now defunct Palluruthy assembly constituency.

Kochi is formed the areas covered by Corporation divisions 1-10 and 19-25 as well as Chellanam and Kumbalanghi panchayats.

Kochi Assembly constituency came into being before 2011 assembly elections following the delimitation process. Parts of the erstwhile Palluruthy and Mattancherry assembly constituencies were integrated with the Kochi assembly constituency.

In the Kochi assembly constituency, female voters outnumber the males. According to the latest estimates by the Election Commission of India, the constituency has a total electorate of168628. Out of the total electors, 82070 are male voters and 86558 are women.

Kochi is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Ernakulam. Paravur, Vypin, Ernakulam, Thrippunithura, Thrikkakara and Kalamassery are the other six constituencies within the Ernakulam.

Kochi Assembly Election Videos 2016