Kazhakkottam Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

In 2014 Lok Sabha elections BJP candidate O Rajagopal had garnered 41,829 votes in the Kazhakkottam assembly segment, a sharp rise from 7,508 which the party secured in 2011 assembly elections. while former State BJP president V Muraleedharan has been fielded by the party to contest the Kazhakkottam seat in 2016 assembly elections, the sitting Congress MLA M.A. Wahid is the in the fray on behalf of the UDF. Kadakampally Surendran of CPIM is facing the voters under the banner of the LDF.

Kazhakkottam Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Kadakampally Surendran CPM Won
V.Muraleedharan BJP 42732
M.A.Vaheed INC 38602
Kochumani BSP 496
N.A.Vahid Puthumangalam IND 412
Aneesh IND 370
Surendran Pillai IND 108
Manimekhala IND 84
Sasikala IND 83
Murukan.A IND 59
Muraleedharan Vaishnavam IND 58
Prasad.P IND 54

Electoral History and Background

Kazhakkottam assembly constituency is currently held by M.A. Wahid who won the seat for the Congress in 2011 by defeating his nearest CPIM rival C. Ajayakumar by a margin of 2196 votes in a bipolar contest.

While 50787 votes were polled in favour of Wahid, the CPIM candidate secured 48591 votes. Padmakumar, who entered the fray on the ticket of BJP, was relegated to the third place with 7508 votes.

Earlier Wahid had won the seat in 2001 and 2006.

Kazhakkottam assembly constituency if formed by the areas covered by 22 wards of the Thiruvananthapuram corporation. These are Attippra, Aakkulam, Anamugham, Chandavila, Chempazhanthi, Cheruvakkal, Chellamangalam, Edavakkode, Kazhakuttam, Kulathoor, Karikkakam, Kattayikkonam, Kadakampalli, Mannanthala, Medical College, Nalanchira, Njandoorkkonam, Poundukadavu, Pallithura, Powdikkonam, Ulloor and Sreekariyam.

Kazhakkottam is one of the seven assembly segments that combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Thiruvananthapuram. Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram, Vattiyoorkavu, Nemom, Neyyattinkara and Parassala are the other six constituencies with the Thiruvananthapuram parliamentary constituency.

In the 2011 assembly election to the Kazhakkottam assembly seat, the constituency had a total electorate of 1,60,931, of which 84,733 were women and 76,198 were males.

Kazhakkottam Assembly Election Videos 2016