Kayamkulam Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Both the CPIM led LDF and Congress led UDF are equally poised to win the Kayamkulam Assembly constituency in the 2016 assembly polls to the Kerala state assembly. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, CPIM candidate C.B. Chandrababu from Alappuzha Lok Sabha constituency had secured a lead over his nearest rival K.C. Venugopal of Congress by 3,286 votes in this Assembly segment. The BJP which had polled just 3,083 votes in 2011, had doubled its tally in the 2014 Lok Sabha election is all set to improve its performance. Prathibha Hari is the candidate for the LDF in place of its sitting MLA.

Kayamkulam Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Adv.U.Prathibha Hari CPM Won
Adv.M.Liju INC 61099
Shaji.M.Panicker BDJS 20000
Adv.Muttam Nazar PDP 1125
P.Maniyappan Achari IND 739
G.Veena IND 177
Ajith P IND 159
Liju.M IND 93

Electoral History and Background

Kayamkulam assembly constituency is currently represented in the Legislative assembly of Kerala by C.K.Sadasivan who won the seat second time in 2011 by defeating M.Murali of the Congress by a margin of 1315 votes in a bipolar contest. While 67409 votes were polled by C.K.Sadasivan, the Congress nominee secured 66094 votes and was distantly followed by BJP’s who got 3083 votes.

In the delimitation exercise in 2011 Muthukulam grama panchayat was delinked from the Kayamkulam constituency. At the same time Chettikulangara and Bharanikkavu grama panchayats were integrated with the constituency.

Fishermen and merchants have a sizable presence in the Kayamkulam constituency where female voters outnumber males. Out of a total electorate of 194617 in the constituency, 104111 are females and 90506 are male voters.

Kayamkulam is one of the seven assembly segments that combine to create the Lok sabha constituency of Alappuzha. Cherthala, Aroor, Alappuzha, Ambalappuzha, Haripad, and Karunagappally are the other six assembly constituency located within the Alappuzha parliamentary constituency.

Kayamkulam Assembly Election Videos 2016