Kattakada Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

A keen contest among LDF, UDF and BJP is on cards for the coming 2016 assembly election to Kattakada which had elected UDF candidate N. Sakthan in the maiden election to the seat in 2011. N. Sakthan, Speaker of the Kerala assembly, is once again in the fray. BJP, on the other hand , has once again fielded P K Krishnadas. The party vote share had shrunk to 18,811 in the assembly segment in the 2015 Lok Sabha elections from 22,550 in 2011 Assembly elections. CPIM has opted to nominate I B Sathish.

Kattakada Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
I.B. Satheesh CPM Won
N Shakthan INC 50765
P.K. Krishnadas BJP 38700
Biju S R BSP 709
Ashraf Pravachambalam Socialist Democratic Party Of India 627
S Mini SUCI(C) 295
K Sasikumar IND 192

Electoral History and Background

N. Sakthan of the Congress is the sitting MLA of Kattakada which he won in 2011 by trouncing his nearest rival M.V. Jayadali, an LDF-backed Independent candidate by a margin of 12916 votes in a triangular contest. In the maiden election to the seat in that year while 52368 votes were polled by N. Sakthan, who had earlier won Nemom assembly seat in 2001 and 2006, Jayadali secured 39452 votes and was followed by BJP’s P K Krishnadas who got significant 22550 votes.

Located in Thiruvananthapuram, the Kattakada assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Kattakada, Maranelloor, Malayinkeezhu, Vilappil, Pallichal and Vilavoorkal panchayats in Neyyatinkara taluk.

Nadar and Nair voters are crucial to the electoral outcome of the Kattakada constituency where female voters outnumber males. Out of a total electorate of 182603 in the constituency, 86952 are males and 95651 are female voters.

Kattakada assembly constituency which came into being in 2011 through the delimitation exercise, is one of the seven assembly segments that combine to create the Lok Sabha constituency of Attingal. Varkala, Attingal, Chirayinkeezhu, Nedumangad, Vamanapuram and Aruvikkara are the other six assembly constituencies within Attingal Lok Sabha seat.

Kattakada Assembly Election Videos 2016